Sara’s Review of Gravity by Melissa West

I would like to thank Shane of Itching for Books for letting me participate in this tour! For a list of all the blogs participating, and for a chance to enter the giveaway associated with this tour, please visit HERE! Also, be sure to come back later for a special Q&A with Melissa West, author of Gravity! =^.^=

Rating:

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Date Published: October 30, 2012

Series: The Taking

Goodreads Description:

In the future, only one rule will matter:

Don’t. Ever. Peek.

Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed — arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.

Ari knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention. She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know — especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.

Review:

The first thing that attracted me to this book was the cover. Yes, I was drawn into the pretty cover much like a moth is drawn to a bright light. The second thing that made me want to read this book was the synopsis. In particular the words “In the future only one rule will matter: Don’t. Ever. Peek.” Okay, I’m sorry, but when you tell a feline not to do something, chances are they will always do it. So I had to “peek” into this book. I had to open its pages and find out what was inside and why this rule was so important. And I’m glad I did! This story was amazing. It drew me in from page one and wouldn’t let me go until the very end. It’s fast paced, mysterious, and fun.

I truly enjoyed the characters in this book. Ari is the type of girl you would want to know in real life. She’s smart, calculating, loyal, and funny. Though she comes from a rather prestigious family, she doesn’t really let it go to her head. If anything, she struck me as rather reluctant to fully follow in her father’s footsteps. She’s also a definite fighter. There are a number of scenes where she seriously kicks butt! As for Jackson…well, I spent half my time totally loving him and the other half wanting to smack him in the head. There’s no question he cares about Ari, but some of the stuff he pulls just makes me sigh and shake my head. I really never cared for the “I am totally into you, but I can’t act like I am when I’m around others” type of game, and Jackson does it a lot in this book. And this is where the frustration comes in because, really when all is said and done, Jackson is a total sweetheart, but his behavior lends him self towards being a jerk. Yes he’s arrogant, yes he evokes that bad boy image, but if you can get past all of this, you’ll see that he’s rather charming.

As far as action goes, this book is full of it. Because Ari is training to be an operative, there are plenty of fight scenes. Add in alien attacks and breaking into government buildings to access secret information, and you’ve got yourself a whole lot of fun scenes that will leave you wanting more, murr! Plus, it never really slows down. No sooner has Ari escaped one situation, then she suddenly finds herself dealing with a whole new issue. It’s no wonder there are moments where Ari questions everything after a while. West does a wonderful job connecting all the events together and leading the reader up to the ending event that will change Ari’s life forever. Curious to know what happens? You know what to do. =^.^=

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves YA Scifi! Once you pick this book up, you won’t want to put it down.

About the Author:

Melissa lives in a tiny suburb of Atlanta, GA with her husband and daughter. She pretends to like yoga, actually likes shoes, and could not live without coffee. Her writing heroes include greats like Jane Austen and Madeleine L’Engle.

She holds a B.A. in Communication Studies and an M.S. in Graphic Communication, both from Clemson University. Yeah, her blood runs orange.

Official links:
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yay for Gravity!! Can’t wait to get my hands on this! 🙂