Sara’s Review of Dead Radiance by T.G. Ayer

I’d like to thank I.O. Book Tours for letting me participate in this tour today!

Rating:

Publisher: Evolved Publishing

Date Published: February 25th 2012

Series: Valkyrie

Goodreads Description:

That day I knew for sure. I’d lost control of my tears then. They fell in huge, mocking drops. I stared at Joshua through those bitter tears, my heart missing beats as I tried to remember to breathe.

I finally knew what the glow meant.

I was a freak and Joshua was going to die.

Bryn Halbrook had always seen the glow. But it is only when her best friend dies that she discovers the meaning of those beautiful golden auras — Death. Alone, lost in the foster system, she struggles to understand who she is and why she was cursed with the ability to see the soon-to-be-dead.

The new foster kid, Aidan, isn’t helping any. Mr. Perfect seems to fit in no matter what, making her feel even more pathetic. But when his affections turn to her, Bryn finds him hard to resist. Impossible actually. A mystery himself, Aidan disappears, leaving behind a broken heart and a mysterious book that suggests Bryn might not be entirely human.

Bryn stands at the threshold of a journey of discovery. Will destiny help her find herself, find her purpose and her place in a world in which she’d never belonged?

Review:

I had a hard time getting into this story initially. There were several moments where I considered putting the book down, but my curiosity made me keep reading because I wanted to see where the author would take things. Suffice it to say, by the end, I definitely planned on reading book two in the series.

One of the elements that made it difficult to get into the story was it felt like there were timeline inconsistencies. By this I mean, it felt like sometimes the author would have Bryn saying that a certain amount of time had gone by in the story, only later to reference that the event happened within the same day to within the same hour. Basically it just didn’t feel like the events flowed well, and the moments where this happened were rather jarring.

Another element that I wasn’t entirely thrilled with was the instant love between Bryn and Aidan. No sooner had these two character met, then they were kissing and Bryn is full-out in love with Aidan. It just didn’t feel real, especially since neither character really knew each other at the time. Now I’ll admit that there are times where the insta-love works, but this just wasn’t that time. And given that it happened so early within the story, and repeated throughout the book, I again struggled with the reading.

I also had trouble relating with Bryn. At times she felt flat as a character and it took me a while to really get into her head and figure out where she was coming from. This was the first time where I was a bit dissatisfied with the main character. On the other hand, I really like Aidan. He struck me as mysterious and the fact that we are introduced to him riding a motorcycle, definitely hot. Plus, he has a scholarly feel to him throughout the book as well. So while Bryn was a bust in the like department, Aidan was a total win.

Despite these problems, there were some elements to the book that I enjoyed. The author’s world building and use of mythology was enjoyable. I’ve always had a fascination with Norse mythology, so it was fun to read Ayer’s take on it. This is where the book really shines, and it pulled me in to the story real quickly, but it took awhile to get to it. Still, there’s little doubt that Ayer’s did her research and took great pains to build and describe the world of Asgard and Bryn’s life.

So when all is sad and done, this was a book that I would have liked to have loved, but left feeling a sense of meh. As I said, I’m still intrigued by the storyline enough to want to read the second book, so be sure to come back next week for my review of Dead Embers. =^.^=

Author Bio:

I have been a writer from the time I was old enough to recognize that reading was a doorway into my imagination. Poetry was my first foray into the art of the written word. Books were my best friends, my escape, my haven. I am essentially a recluse but this part of my personality is impossible to practice given I have two teenage daughters, who are actually my friends, my tea-makers, my confidantes… I am blessed with a husband who has left me for golf. It’s a fair trade as I have left him for writing. We are both passionate supporters of each other’s loves – it works wonderfully…

My heart is currently broken in two. One half resides in South Africa where my old roots still remain, and my heart still longs for the endless beaches and the smell of moist soil after a summer downpour. My love for Ma Afrika will never fade. The other half of me has been transplanted to the Land of the Long White Cloud. The land of the Taniwha, beautiful Maraes, and volcanoes. The land of green, pure beauty that truly inspires. And because I am so torn between these two lands – I shall forever remain cross-eyed.

Where to find the author: Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Goodreads, Shelfari

Be sure to check out all the blogs participating in this tour! And also visit them for your chance to be entered into the giveaway associated with this event.

10/15    Mallory Heart Reviews   Review
10/16    Head Stuck In A Book    Review
10/22    DanaSquare   Review
10/22    What the Cat Read   Review
10/24    Andrea Heltsley Books   Review
10/24    My Cozie Corner    Review
10/25    Krystal’s Enchanting Reads     Review
10/25    Nomi’s Paranormal Palace   Review
10/25    Everyone Loves a SiNner    Review
10/25    Persephone’s Winged Reviews   Review
10/26    Bookish Things & More    Review

Posted on October 22, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I adore this series, I can’t put these books down!