Our Favorite Authors – Agatha Christie

Our goal with “Our Favorite Authors” is to help our followers find new authors whom they might never have tried before and also thank those authors whom have touched our lives over the years. And since there is no shortage in authors whom we love, we are positive this monthly post will be a success! 🐱

Agatha Christie is the world’s best-known mystery writer. Her books have sold over a billion copies in the English language and another billion in 44 foreign languages. She is the most widely published author of all time in any language, outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare.

Her writing career spanned more than half a century, during which she wrote 80 novels and short story collections, as well as 14 plays, one of which, The Mousetrap, is the longest-running play in history. Two of the characters she created, the brilliant little Belgian Hercule Poirot and the irrepressible and relentless Miss Marple, went on to become world-famous detectives. Both have been widely dramatized in feature films and made-for-TV movies.

Agatha Christie also wrote romantic novels under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott. As well, she wrote four non-fiction books including an autobiography and an entertaining account of the many expeditions she shared with her archaeologist husband, Sir Max Mallowan.

Agatha Christie died in 1976.

Ah, the wonderful Mrs. Agatha Christie. There are so many things that I could say about her. Is there anyone who doesn’t know this woman’s books?

My introduction to Christie’s writing came as thanks to my mother who owned many of her books, and she encouraged me to get the rest of the set when it became apparent that I enjoyed the stories. The first ones I ever read were her Tommy and Tuppence books. While these were not the most popular of her series, I rather loved them and was sad that she didn’t go beyond five books. The relationship between Tommy and Tuppence was engaging and at times humorous. My favorite of the series was By the Pricking of My Thumbs. There was just the right amount of mystery in this story to keep me reading the entire night. I also reread this book on more than one occasion.

Another favorite of mine was And Then There Were None, originally called Ten Little Indians. I’ll admit that before I ever read the book, I saw the movie adaptation first. Somehow the idea of ten people being slowly killed off in a variety of ways and tied in with a poem really appealed to me. Now some folks might consider this morbid, but I enjoyed it. So much so, that I once had the entire poem associated with the story memorized. This was another one of Christie’s stories that I read regularly.

From these books, I moved into her Miss Marple and Poirot stories. Of the 80+ stories & plays that she wrote, I must have read all of them over the course of five years. Her mysteries provided hours of entertainment and I periodically find myself returning to my favorite books on a regular basis. Of all the mystery writes that sit on my shelves, Mrs. Christie is by far one of my all time favorite authors.

Have you ever read any of Christie’s books? Which were your favorites? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below. =^.^=

Posted on October 21, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Our Favorite Authors – Agatha Christie.

Comments are closed.