Commencement by Paige Cuccaro – Excerpt & Giveaway

Today we are thrilled to bring you a special excerpt from Paige Cuccaro’s COMMENCEMENT, as part of the Commencement Blog Tour hosted by Entangled Publishing. For a full list of all the blogs participating in this tour, please visit HERE! And now, on to the excerpt. =^.^=

***

He exhaled through his nose, making his nostrils flare. His forehead wrinkled, then he turned back to

the computer. “Salt.”

“Huh?”

“Supernaturals don’t like salt. It’s a known fact,” he said, typing as he talked. The kid had skills. “Next

time you go over to the frat-sty, sprinkle salt around. If there’s something otherworldly being held there, you’ll know it.”

“Seriously? I’m supposed to throw salt all over the place? They’ll think I’m nuts.”

“What, it’s a secret?” His quiet snicker shook his shoulders.

“Har-har.”

He sobered. “Not all over the place, Einstein. Sprinkle it on things. Stuff that could hold a spirit: boxes, cups, bowls, books, anything old.”

“Salt.” I tried to picture myself tip-toeing around the Kappa Omega fraternity house with one of the

plastic salt shakers the guys had swiped from Mickey D’s.

Oh, this was so not going to be fun.

“Sea salt,” Mihir said, head down, fingers flying over his keyboard, “works better.”

“Right.” Of course it does. “What are you doing with all that typing and clicking?”

“Fixing grades.”

“No you’re not. Tell me you are not hacked into the school’s computer.” I sat up straight, swallowing hard against my suddenly dry throat. I knew computer hacking was the pastime of most hormone-crazed kids these days, but walking on the wrong side of the law, virtually or not, gave me the willies.

He glanced over his shoulder at me, looking very young and mischievous. Then he winked and turned back to the computer. “Relax, Emma, they can’t trace me. I’m too good. Besides, I’m just fixing what some other numb-nut screwed up. At the rate those IT dips the school hired are moving, they won’t isolate the virus till next year. I’ll have it fixed in another hour or two tops.”

“Virus? Is that what made everyone’s grades show as Fs?”

“Yep.”

“Oh. Well then, carry on.” I pushed to my feet and took the three steps to the other side of the dorm

room to stand behind his desk chair. “The dean said he’d postpone commencement next week until they can figure out which students really failed and which were just hacked. That would definitely suck. My family’s way too psyched about coming. Telling them the thing’s postponed would be…scary.”

“You know it. My parents almost had a cow over the grades. I told them the Fs weren’t real, but they’re paranoid it’ll somehow keep me from getting into med school. Boo-hoo. Right?”

Mihir didn’t really want to be a doctor. He wanted to be Giles from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Like I said…he’s fifteen.

Mihir swung his gaze, wagged his brows. “Hey, while I’m in here, what’ll ya give me for an A in advanced physics?”

“Hey, there’s nothing wrong with that B. I earned it.” Okay, it was a B minus, but it was all mine. I hated math, and just because I’d skipped some grades in high school didn’t make college courses cake for me.

I reached over and mussed his hair, then left to begin my search for sea salt…and sleazy hidden spirits.

This was insane.

***

Title: Commencement (a Hellsbane novella)
Author: Paige Cuccaro
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: 87 pages
Imprint: Flirt
Release Date: September 2012
ISBN: 978-1-62266-992-9

Blurb:

Hell hath no fury like a woman’s scorn for frat guys…

Emma Jane Hellsbane knows something evil is worming its way through her
college campus—she can feel it. Literally. Her freakish ability to feel
other people’s emotions as though they were her own has always been
monumentally awkward, and it’s easier for her to just pretend it doesn’t
exist. But this time her paranormal ability just might help her save
lives.

Emma Jane’s fairly certain that whatever the hateful, egomaniacal,
Godlike thing is, it’s set up shop inside her boyfriend, the frat
boy/soccer star Justin. And if she doesn’t figure a way to get it out of
him soon, Justin’s soul will be the appetizer to the main course—the
whole student body. Problem is, the big baddy is granting sinister
wishes, and with each one the risks grow higher and the phrase Be
careful what you wish for becomes a real-life dire warning. Of course
for Emma, what feels like it could be the end is in fact just the
beginning…

Amazon, Barnes & Noble

About Paige

Writing was never a foregone conclusion for me. I once had dreams of
being a psychologist, a pediatrician, a school teacher, a
photojournalist, a bartender, and/or an EMT. And then I met my husband
and my world came into focus. Being wife and mother are my highest
priorities and greatest joy. But escaping to the fanciful, sexy worlds
twirling through my mind is an absolute necessity. Putting those worlds,
and the cornucopia of characters that people them, on paper is just
plain fun.

Paige lives in Ohio, with her husband, three daughters, three dogs,
three cats, a parakeet and a bearded dragon named Rexy, in an ever
shrinking house. When she’s not writing she can be found doing the mom
thing with a book in one hand and a notepad and pen in the other. Ideas
come without warning and the best way to stimulate your imagination is
to enjoy the imagination of someone else.

Where to find Paige: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads

Posted on October 16, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.