Guest Interview with Nina Croft, author of Break Out + Giveaway

Today, here on What the Cat Read, we are interviewing Nina Croft, author of Break Out. Purrs and tail waves to you Nina!

N.C. – Hi thanks for hosting me here today. I love cats (I have three!) so great to be here.

WtCR – Please share three fun facts about yourself.

  1. I have a pet three-legged Vietnamese pot-bellied pig called Piggles. She lives in the house and she’s a real cutie.
  2. My house is pretty remote and has no mains electricity. I hate housework, and this gives me the perfect excuse never to iron.
  3. I once watched three whole seasons of 24 in five days. My excuse: I hadn’t seen a TV in a while, and I have a total crush on Jack Bauer!

WtCR – Describe your writing style for us. Are you a plotter or a pantser?

N.C. – I’m a total plotter. I always wanted to be a pantser, but I’m not – if I try, I get lost in the middle. But I hate routines, so I never plot the same way twice. I use various methods, character interviews, scene by scene breakdowns. And at some point in that process, my characters will start chatting away in my head, and that’s when I usually start writing.

WtCR – For those who have not read Break Out, how would you describe it?

N.C. – Vampires in Space. It’s a sort of cross between science fiction romance and paranormal romance. There’s lots of fun adventure in space with lots of hot sex thrown in.

WtCR – When you develop your characters, do you model them off of people in your life or do they sort of create themselves?

N.C. – Never. They create themselves. Some seem to come along fully formed like Rico the vampire hero of Break out. Others have to be helped along a little. But I don’t think any of them resemble people from my life. Mind you, I tend to write about vampires, werewolves and aliens so that’s not really surprising.

But I do sometimes put my animals into my books.

WtCR – What inspired you to write Break Out?

N.C. – Watching the TV series, Firefly for the third time. I love that program, and I was overcome by the need to write a space opera of my own.

WtCR – Who is your favorite character from the novel? Which character surprised you?

N.C. – Rico is probably my favorite of all my characters. He was so easy to write, though he does have a tendency to take over every scene he’s in (which was okay in Break Out as he was the hero, but a bit of a pain in the later books when he should have been taking more of a back seat.)

The character who surprised me the most was Al the cabin boy. But it would be giving too much away to explain why!

WtCR – What was your favorite scene when writing the book? What was the most difficult?

N.C. – I loved writing the strip poker scene with Rico and Skylar, as Rico starts to open up and show more of what he is (literally as well as figuratively, as he’s losing!)

Probably the most difficult for me were the fight scenes – I’ve never been in a fight.

WtCR – What can we expect next from you writing wise? Will there be more books in the Blood Hunter universe?

N.C. – There will be more from the Blood Hunter series, Books 2, Deadly Pursuit, and 3, Death Defying are already written. But my next release, in December, will be a paranormal romance, Bittersweet Blood, about a woman searching for her past and the scorching hot vampire who helps her discover it.

WtCR – What would you say is the most difficult part about writing a novel?

N.C. – For me, it’s deciding on which idea I want to pursue out of all the ideas floating in my head.

WtCR –  Must have writing snacks/drinks?

N.C. – Coffee

WtCR – Music or silence while writing?

N.C. – Silence, but more because I just don’t notice the music once I’m writing.

WtCR – Favorite genre to read?

N.C. – I read just about everything and the genre varies. But probably right now my favorite is paranormal romance/urban fantasy. I just read Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series again and loved it.

WtCR – If you could have written any famous novel, which would you have written and why?

N.C. – I think The Lord of the Rings; it had such a huge impact on when I was growing up. One day, I will get around to writing a really big, fat, fantasy trilogy.

WtCR – Is there anything you’d like to share with our readers before you go?

N.C. – I hope you enjoy reading Break Out as much as I enjoyed writing the book!

Thank you again Nina for joining us today! And be sure to come back later today for Willow’s review of Break Out. =^.^=

Break Out – Blurb

The year is 3048, Earth is no longer habitable, and man has fled to the stars where they’ve discovered the secret of immortality—Meridian. Unfortunately, the radioactive mineral is exorbitantly expensive and only available to a select few. A new class comprised of the super rich and immortal soon evolves. The Collective, as they’re called, rule the universe.
Two-thousand-year-old Ricardo Sanchez, vampire and rogue pilot of the space cruiser, El Cazador, can’t resist two things: gorgeous women and impossible jobs. When beautiful Skylar Rossaria approaches him to break a prisoner out of the Collective’s maximum security prison on Trakis One, Rico jumps at the chance. Being hunted by the Collective has never been so dangerous–or so fun!

Buy Link: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

Bio:

Nina Croft grew up in the north of England. After training as an accountant, she spent four years working as a volunteer in Zambia, which left her with a love of the sun and a dislike of 9-5 work. She then spent a number of years mixing travel (whenever possible) with work (whenever necessary) but has now settled down to a life of writing and picking almonds on a remote farm in the mountains of southern Spain.

Nina writes all types of romance often mixed with elements of the paranormal and science fiction.

Find me at: Website, Twitter, Facebook

Giveaway!!!
Nina has kindly offered to giveaway an eBook copy of Break Out to one lucky winner. =^.^= To enter, simply fill out the form below. Good luck to all who enter!

Posted on October 14, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice interview and inspiration for the book.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com