Guest Interview with Crista McHugh, author of Tangled Web

We are excited to be interviewing Crista McHugh, author of Tangled Web, today here on What the Cat Read. Purrs and tail waves to you Crista!

C.H. – Thank you so much for having me!

WtCR – Please share three fun facts about yourself.

C.H – I once won a trip to Paris from being on a dating-show thing and then took my mom with me instead of the guy.
I used to work as a morgue attendant
I know more about football than my husband
(and I will add that my cat, Binx, rules our house)

WtCR – What attracted you to writing? Was it something you always wanted to do, or something that grew over time?

C.H – I’m a Southerner, so I’ve always been surrounded by tall tales. I started coming up with my own stories when I was a young teen, and I finally reached the point where I couldn’t ignore the characters in my mind.

WtCR – Describe your writing style for us. Are you a plotter or a pantser?

C.H. – I’m a total plotter, although I’ve been allowing more leeway in the middle of the book to let the characters surprise me. But I never sit down to write a story unless I know the characters inside and out and have a detailed outline of all the major plot points and scenes. This usually means I stew over stories for weeks at a time before get started on them.

WtCR – When you develop your characters, do you model them off of people in your life or do they sort of create themselves?

C.H. – They usually come to me and tell me who they are, what they want, etc. I’m always scared to model characters after people I know because I don’t want to cause any undue neuroses.

WtCR – What inspired you to write Tangled Web?

C.H. – I was flipping the channel between Stargate and a documentary on the emperors of Rome and thought it would be a cool twist to substitute Ancient Rome for Ancient Egypt.

WtCR – What was your favorite scene when writing the book? What was the most difficult?

C.H. – The dinner party scene was my favorite – it pushed the comfort levels of both characters and was very hot. The most difficult to write was when both characters revealed their feelings about each other. I had it set up one way, and I ended up having to rewrite the scene several times before it felt true to the characters.

WtCR – What can we expect next from you writing wise?

C.H. – My next release is A Soul For Chaos in December. It’s the second book in the Soulbearer Trilogy and continues where A Soul For Trouble left off.

WtCR – Must have writing snacks/drinks?

C.H. – Tea or coffee

WtCR – If you could have written any famous novel, which would you have written and why?

C.H. – The Harry Potter series – it was so fun and imaginative, and I loved watching the characters grow up as the series progressed.

WtCR – Is there anything you’d like to share with our readers before you go?

C.H. – I love to hear from readers, so please contact me through my webpage, Facebook, or Twitter if you have any questions or comments!

WtCR – Thank you again Crista for joining us today! And be sure to come back later for Sara’s review of Tangled Web! =^.^=

Posted on October 13, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Guest Interview with Crista McHugh, author of Tangled Web.

Comments are closed.