Willow’s Review of Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole

Rating:

Publisher: Lakehouse Press

Date Published: September 30, 2012

Series: The Minaldi Legacy

Goodreads Description:

As a little boy, Luca Minaldi was told he was a monster.
As an adult, he knows it is true.

He lives in Malta, a fairytale-like place filled with sunshine and sea, beauty and secrets. And Luca’s darkest of secrets is the best kept of them all.

Eva Talbot arrives in Malta for the summer to finish up her doctoral dissertation. When she meets Luca, a mysterious and handsome shipping tycoon, there is an instant attraction, a disturbing and beautiful energy that she has never felt before. But she senses the darkness that lives within him.

Eva is hired to care for his mother, who suffers from dementia, but it is Luca who Eva will eventually risk everything to save. Her life becomes a swirling chaos of darkness and romance, of secrets and mystery. And the question that emerges will become the most important answer of all.

Can she save Luca from the darkness that plagues him without losing herself?

The answer is a matter of life or death.

Review:

This was a fascinating read. When I first started, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Was this going to be a paranormal romance, a mystery/thriller, or a straight dark romance novel? Turns out, it’s a little of all of the above. There’s definitely a lot of romance involved, though it’s a bit more erotic than I’m use to. This isn’t to say my enjoyment of the book was dimmed in any way. If anything, it drew me further into the story and it’s safe to say that I enjoyed every minute of it!

I’m always hesitant when I read a story which changes points of view frequently, but it worked spectacularly for this novel. Cole tells the story from three perspectives; that of Eva (Evangeline), Luca, and The Beast. Each voice is distinctive, engaging, and blends perfectly with the others. While I enjoyed Eva’s POV, I found myself enjoying Luca’s and The Beast’s more because they were less analytical. Actually, I think my favorite point of view was that of The Beast because Cole really captured the creature’s primal nature in each section. But each section holds true to the character’s personality. Eva’s a psychiatrist, so her parts are analytical in nature. Luca’s sections have the feeling of mystery surrounding them. And well, you can already guess what The Beast’s parts are like.  =^.^=

Character wise, I enjoyed everyone, even the secondary characters. Luca is a mysterious, deliciously disturbing individual. Eva’s strong-willed, analytical, and at times overly emotional. The two of them are the perfect blend of dark and light. But they also have moments where they clash, and the resulting blow out will leave your senses whirling. I also took a particular interest in Luca’s mother. She’s a rather fascinating individual in her own right and her scenes add to the mystery that plays throughout this book.

As for Cole’s writing, it flows well throughout the book. The scenes are well thought out, the descriptions and attention to detail fit the tone of the story, and the plot will keep you turning the pages as it takes a number of unexpected twists.

I’ll be honest and say that this isn’t a book that will be for everyone. There are times where it gets very dark and some of the scenes were a bit disturbing, there’s one in particular that comes to my mind at the moment, but for the most part I must say that for Cole’s first venture out of the YA genre, she’s got a winner on her hands. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

I’d like to thank Kismet Book Touring and Courtney Cole for letting me review this title. =^.^=

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Willow’s Review of Of Blood and Bone by Courtney Cole.

Comments are closed.