Final ALA 2012 Update

Hi everyone!

This is Cameron with a final post regarding the ALA convention up in Anaheim. It’s officially Wednesday night, which means it’s been a full two days since the event ended and all I can say is, “Boy is it good to be home!” Now please don’t get me wrong, I had an absolute blast getting to meet fellow bloggers, authors, and publishers, but I missed my furry felines…so yeah.

Sharon Cameron signing The Dark Unwinding at ALA 2012

NEways, Monday was the last day of the convention and I spent most of it just hanging out with friends. Since I didn’t know when I’d be able to see half these people again, it was nice to just relax and socialize. I also used the time to go around and thank everyone at the publishing houses for making the event such a wonderful experience. Given all the hard work they put into working the convention, saying thanks was the least I could do.

By 2pm the event was over and I was sitting in the train station waiting for my ride home. Amazingly enough, my luggage arrived intact and by 9pm I was home. I wish I could say that the felines were happy to see me, but the first thing Willow did was lead me upstairs to her empty food bowl and demand that I fill it immediately. Sigh…

So, as you can see, there really wasn’t a whole lot of excitement during the last day. It was rather bittersweet to see it come to an end. And as I said in my previous post, the memories and contacts made through this event were well worth it. I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to go and I honestly do not know when I will ever have a chance to do something this amazing again in the future. =^.^=

And now for a recap of the convention highlights for me.

Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl at ALA 2012

Authors I was lucky enough to meet (in no particular order):

Sherman Alexie, Lemony Snicket, Kady Cross, Sarah J. Moss, Gennifer Albin, Sharon Cameron, Garth Nix, Marissa Meyer, Robin LaFevers, Tahereh Mafi, Marie Lu, Suzanne Lazear, Talia Vance, George R.R. Martin, Cindy Pon, Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl, Linda Joy Singleton, Kim Purcell, Gabrielle Prendergast, Amy Tintera, & Katie McGarry.

Some of the wonderful publishers who made me feel welcomed (please note that these were not the only publishers I saw, but these were the ones that stood out for me):

Katie Kane of Flux Books (an imprint of Llewellyn Publications) – I really loved Katie. She was so personable and fun to just talk with. I’m making it a point to stay in touch with her as much as possible because she was such a wonderful person. I don’t usually go out of my way to pick stuff up for other folks when I attend conventions (unless it is planned in advance), but I made sure to try and pick up a few items for her since she couldn’t roam around the hall. I loved her sense of humor and I miss her already. =^.^=

Varlerie Pierce and the other folks at Sourcebooks – I have to give these folks major kudos points for the work they did at the convention. Every morning there was a rush at their booth as folks tried to get the shirts they were giving away. They also were quick to answer any and all questions about the books they had on display, as well as give recommendations for books worth checking out.

The wonderful teams at the Macmillan, Scholastic, Harlequin, and Random House booths – Yeah, I could go on for forever about how great these folks were, but I’ll keep it simple and state that everyone was really nice and helpful. Any questions that I had there was always someone there to answer. I never once felt slighted by any of them for being a blogger, and I had a fun time at their book signings.

George R.R. Martin at ALA 2012

Nathan Gonzalez of Nortia Press – This was an unexpected, yet delightful contact. I was looking for a gift that would be perfect for my roommate, and he just happened to have the perfect book. I’m definitely planning on checking out a few of the titles that this press has in the near future.

And finally I’d like to give a shout out to the bloggers that I got to meet while attending:

Jaime and Patricia of Two Chicks on Books, Mindy of Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, Lisa of A Life Bound by Books, Cynthia of Dog-Eared & Bookmarked, the wonderful ladies of the YA Sisterhood, Jordyn of Ten Cent Notes, Jenny of Books to the Sky, Kai of Fiction State of Mind, HD of Reading Writing Breathing, Katie of Katie’s Book Blog, Ashley of Ashley Loves Books, Anastasia of Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog, Mickey of I’m a Book Shark, Kristen of Seeing Night Reviews, and Jaime of The Lost Lola. And, if I met you but didn’t include you in the list, please forgive me and send me a message reminding me that we met! =^.^=

So yeah, four days filled with excitement, memories, and so much more. My posts really don’t do any of it justice!

Posted on June 27, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Woot Woot! 🙂 Nice to meet you Cameron…or LdySkyfire or What the Cat Read.