Willow’s Review of The Seduction of Phaeton Black by Jillian Stone

Paw Rating:

Publisher: Brava

Publication Date: March 27th 2012

Series: Paranormal Investigator

Goodreads Description:

In the gaslit streets of Victorian London, phantoms rule the night, demons dance till dawn, and one supernatural detective dares to be seduced by the greatest power of all. . .

He’s The Man With The Magic Touch

A master of deduction, seduction and other midnight maneuvers, Phaeton Black is Scotland Yard’s secret weapon against things that go bump in the night. His prodigious gifts as a paranormal investigator are as legendary as his skills as a lover, his weakness for wicked women as notorious as his affection for absinthe. But when he’s asked to hunt down a fanged femme fatale who drains her victims of blood, he walks right into the arms of the most dangerous woman he’s ever known. . .

She’s The Devilish Miss Jones

Pressing a knife to his throat–and demanding he make love to her–Miss America Jones uses Phaeton as a willing shield against the gang of pirates chasing her. As deadly as she is, with a derringer tucked in her garter, Miss Jones is not the vampiric killer he’s been staking out–but she may be just what Phaeton needs to crack the case. As the daughter of a Cajun witch, she possesses uncanny powers. As a fearless fighter, she can handle anything from Egyptian mummies to Jack the Ripper. But when an ancient evil is unleashed on the world, she could be his only salvation. . .or ultimate sacrifice.

Review:

Egyptian gods, paranormal creatures, Jack the Ripper, pirates, Scotland Yard, Victorian England, steampunk, and a bit of steamy hot romance on the side…what more could a feline want? Stone’s book had me engrossed in the story from the very first chapter on!

First let me say that I greatly enjoyed the characters in this book! Phaeton Black is one of those types of characters that I instantly loved. There’s so many elements to him that made him an outstanding character for me. He’s sensual, cocky, mysterious, guarded as far as his heart is concerned, and very charismatic. He sort of reminds me a bit of Sherlock Holmes, one of my all time favorite detectives. America Jones is humorous, sassy, and generally a strong leading lady. I loved how she refused to conform to society’s standards towards women and was determined to get her father’s ships back through any cost. Together these two made the perfect leading characters and the chemistry between them was HOT!

And speaking of chemistry, believe me when I say that the title is not in any way misleading. There’s a lot of seduction going on within the pages of this book, and not all of it is directed just towards Phaeton. If you are not a fan of steamy romance, this probably isn’t the book for you. I, on the other hand, couldn’t get enough of it. I loved watching the connect between Phaeton and America grow throughout the story and it pained me to see the two of them pushing each other away when they so clearly belonged together. The scenes where they were together left me breathless.

The fact that this was not just a paranormal romance, but a mystery novel, also intrigued me. As Phaeton investigates the deaths taking place in the streets of London, the reader is kept guessing about who the culprit is. Is it a vampire? Jack the Ripper returned? Or something else entirely not human? I’ll leave it to you to discover the answer to that question, but I will say that the truth will surprise you. =^.^=

Over all I have to give serious purrs and tail waves to Stone for writing a book that has definitely left me wanting more of Phaeton and America! I can’t wait until the second novel, The Moonstone and Miss Jones, comes out in October of this year. Until then, I will be checking out her other series, The Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, in the months ahead.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Willow’s Review of The Seduction of Phaeton Black by Jillian Stone.

Comments are closed.