WtCR at ALA Anaheim 2012

Hey everyone!

This is Cameron reporting on behalf of the felines here at the ALA convention in Anaheim, CA. =^.^=  Hard to believe that I’m here, but I think I can safely say that I am having a blast! I’ve met so many wonderful people and seen such amazing things…it’s difficult to figure out where to start with this post.

Anaheim Convention Center

Friday, I hopped onto the train and traveled up to Anaheim for the first of four days of nonstop author signings and meet ups. Upon arrival I met Jaime and Patricia, the bloggers behind Two Chicks on Books, for the first time in person. They are an amazing pair of women and I’m honored to be attending this event with them. After stopping by the hotel to drop off my luggage, we left for the convention center for the opening night of the exhibit floor. The doors opened at 4 pm and I swear my eyes must have bugged out of my head at the sight of all the publishing houses in attendance. I didn’t know where to begin with it all.

Inside the exhibit hall of ALA 2012

This first night was simply finding where various publishers were on the floor, getting copies of books that sounded interesting, and generally seeing the sights. At first I was hesitant going up to talk with publishers about books but I soon found myself settling into the flow of things and I ended up with a small pile of books. This was also the night where I got to meet Lisa of A Life Bound by Books, Mindy of Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and the three ladies behind the YA Sisterhood blog. It was a joy to finally talk to these ladies off of Twitter and it was the perfect start to the entire event!

Saturday was a full day on the exhibit floor followed by a YA blogger meet up later in the evening. The nerves and uncertainty towards what I was doing from the previous day were gone. Since I already had a good idea which authors I wanted to see, the day was a fairly easy one. The pile of books from the day before increased dramatically as I visited one publishing booth after the next. Every time I turned a corner I found something worth looking at. There were so many authors, it was hard to get to everyone! Some of the authors I was lucky enough to see were Suzanne Lazear, Garth Nix, Talia Vance, Marissa Meyer, and Tahereh Mafi. I also got to meet Cynthia of Dog-Eared and Bookmarked, another wonderful book lover whom I have had the pleasure to talk with countless times on Twitter.

Suzanne Lazear signing Innocent Darkness at ALA 2012

Once the floor closed, it was time to get ready for a YA Blogger party at the nearby Marriott hotel. The idea was for bloggers to get together and meet each other, as well as various authors and publishers. I’ll admit, the entire event made me nervous. It’s one thing to talk with people in a convention environment where there are things to distract you and noise to cover up the nerves, but in a small group of people in a relaxed setting…it’s outside of my comfort zone. I’m glad that I went though as I got to meet some bloggers who are local to me! We all exchanged business cards and talked about possibly doing a local meet-up sometime in the near future. =^.^=

By the end of the night I was exhausted, my back and shoulders were sore, and I had to momentarily wonder how I was going to get everything home at the end of the event. All in all, I had a great time!

And so we come to Sunday, the last full day of the event before the closing ceremonies Monday afternoon. My first two stops of the day were to the HarperCollins and Disney-Hyperion booths in order to pick up a few titles that I had missed earlier during the convention. After that it was off to check out the rest of the exhibit floor away from the publishing section. Booths of interest there were Brilliance Audio, Overdrive (an ebooks and audio reference site which I adore), and Baker and Taylor where you could pick up a bag with various Scottish Fold cat images on it. This was a bag that I HAD to have! I made a note to try to return Monday morning for another one if possible because I love it so much.

Kady Cross signing Girl in the Clockwork Collar at ALA 2012

At noon I was told that Kady Cross would be signing over at the Harlequin booth an hour earlier than originally planned. So naturally, I got in line to meet her and got a signed copy of Girl in the Clockwork Collar. Her’s was the start of another round of great author signings. Around 1 pm I ran back over to the HarperCollins booth in order to get a photo of Lemony Snicket. This man was hysterical! He’s definitely worth checking out should he ever come to a book signing near you. I also got to meet Sharon Cameron and Gennifer Albin. And yes, before you ask, I did return to the hotel room with more books, but not nearly as many as yesterday. Part of it was because I was really trying to exert self-control and the other part was because I’m taking the train back and they’ve got a weight restriction of 50 lbs max per bag. Tomorrow (Monday) is going to be really interesting in the traveling home department. Heeheehee

So there you have it. A brief glimpse into my adventures at ALA 2012! I must extend thanks to all the publishers, authors, bloggers, and many more for making this one of the best events I’ve ever gone too! I’m so glad that I did this. The memories and connections made through this will stay with me forever. =^.^=  I can’t wait to attend ALA again some year!

Be sure to visit the blog often in the coming months as the felines will slowly, but surely, be reviewing many of the titles picked up from this event. Also keep an eye on our Fan Page as I have plans on posting many of the photos taken during the convention.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on WtCR at ALA Anaheim 2012.

Comments are closed.