Armchair BEA – Introduction

Design credit goes to Nina of Nina Reads

We felines wanted to do something a bit different this month. Since BEA has this policy that doesn’t allow animals to attend events (except for service dogs) and since our human is busy with other things right now, we decided that we would attend the from the comfort of our own beds. Our thanks to the wonderful folks at Armchair BEA for hosting the event. =^.^=

Technically the event started yesterday, but due to a series of pre-scheduled posts, we felt that it would be best for us to do our post today since we don’t have anything pressing to put up. Participants were asked to answer five questions that would serve as an introduction. Here’s our Q&A’s!

***

Q: Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

We are Sara, Willow, and Buggy: three literate felines who, along with our human Cameron, enjoy reading and discussing our favorite books. We’ve officially been blogging since July 29, 2011. The main reason we got into blogging was because we had noticed a severe lack of feline points of view in the review world. Cats and books go paw in paw with each other. So it was a surprise when we discovered that though a great many of our felines cousins read, they don’t feel comfortable sharing their thoughts with fellow human readers. Hence the creation of our blog. To learn more about us, please check out our bios!

Q: What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?

Sara: I’m currently reading If I Die by Rachel Vincent as part of the Soul Screamers Challenge hosted by Fiktshun.

Willow: Just finished Dark Oracle by Alayna Williams and am wrapping up the second book of the series, Rogue Oracle.

Buggy: Currently reading Bella by Steve Piacente as part of the Book Whore Book Club.

Q: Where do you see your blog in five years?

Tough question. Ideally we’d like to see our blog thriving in five years, but then who doesn’t want to see their hard work turn into success? Thinking about it, it’d be nice to be able to offer our readers more author interviews, advanced notice of new titles coming out, first glimpses at anticipated reads, and giveaways. We love giveaways, but our human is hesitant to start hosting them at this time. We hope to eventually succeed in talking her into doing more of them in the future. =^~.-^=

Q: Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?

Sara: My favorite post would have to be the review I wrote on Pyxis by K.C. Neil because it was the first post in which I not only shared my opinion on a book, but also got to host my first contest. Talk about a learning experience for me, murr! It was the test model for future giveaway posts and proved to be rather successful given that none of us really knew the best way to do a giveaway at the time. Plus the book was a fun read and I enjoyed talking with Neil during my reading of her book.

Willow: This would have to be my review of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern! I absolutely loved the book and had a blast writing the review!

Buggy: Unlike my fellow feline reviewers, I’ve not completely embraced sharing my views on the books I read via the computer. I’ll admit, I’m an older cat and as such not entirely sure of this thing called “blogging”. Regardless, I’d say my favorite post is my review of The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. The book was a great read, extremely thought-provoking, and made me want to study the history of North and South Korea in greater detail.

Q: If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

Sara: Anne McCaffrey. She was my first love in SciFi/Fantasy books. I will always be beholden to her for teaching me how to ride on the backs of dragons!

Willow: I’d like to dine with Midnight Louie from Carole Nelson Douglas’s mystery series. I love a good mystery and it seems that he’s always involved with solving one crime or another. I think he’d be fun to hang out with for a bit and get to know better.

Buggy: Edgar Allan Poe. Fascinating man and outstanding stories/poems. Need I say more?

Posted on June 4, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love cats! That’s so awesome that you read, I wish mine did!

    • Thanks for stopping by the blog! We love hearing from readers, so don’t hesitate to to keep in touch. =^.^= As far as your cats go, you never know…one of them might very well be secretly reading whenever you are not home. We’ve met several cousins who like to keep most of what they do private from their human care givers.

  2. Ann McCaffrey would be wonderful to have lunch with! Wonderful idea!

    It was so nice to meet you 🙂 Armchair BEA @ the Brunette Librarian