Our Favorite Authors – Piers Anthony

Our goal with “Our Favorite Authors” is to help our followers find new authors whom they might never have tried before and also thank those authors whom have touched our lives over the years. And since there is no shortage in authors whom we love, we are positive this monthly post will be a success! 🐱

Piers Anthony is one of the world’s most prolific and popular authors. His fantasy Xanth novels have been read and loved by millions of readers around the world, and have been on the New York Times Best Seller list many times. Although Piers is mostly known for fantasy and science fiction, he has written several novels in other genres as well, including historical fiction, martial arts, and horror. Piers lives with his lovely wife in a secluded woods hidden deep in Central Florida.

The first time I was introduced to Anthony, I was wondering the shelves of my local library and stumbled upon one of his Apprentice Adept novels. Actually, I stumbled upon the sixth book of the series, read it cover to cover, and quickly realized that I really should have read the first five in the series before hand. It was while I was searching for these novels that I came across his Mode series and Xanth novels. So, began my collection of Piers Anthony books, which includes one of his darker novels, Firefly.

I really enjoyed Anthony’s Mode series and like a great many fans, found myself anxiously waiting for the fourth book of the series to come out. Every year I’d wait for it to be released, only to find myself disappointed when it failed to appear on shelves. Finally in 20o1, the last book came out and needless to say, I bought it the first chance I got. Read it in one day too. 🐱 These were my favorite books out of all of his titles. There was something about the world he created within the series that appealed to me and I was able to connect with the characters more than I had in his previous books. They are fun but in no ways a light read as the main character has some serious psychological issues that are the backdrop to the entire series. Still, out of all of his books, I come back to this series regularly whenever I want to reread some old favorites.

The Xanth series one of those series that I didn’t truly start to appreciate until much later in my life. A lot of the running jokes in the books didn’t make much sense to my young mind and so much of the humor was lost on me the first time through. With 36 books in the series, I’m nowhere near close to owning the entire set (only own 1-19), but I do have plans of some day sitting down and reading the entire series back-to-back. This is one of those series that I think only gets better the older you get because your understanding of all the jokes is deeper. The books themselves are fun, quick reads, and can easily be read in any order as they don’t really follow each other.

While there are a ton of other Anthony novels/series out there, these are the three that I grew up with and loved. And yes, at some point I plan on reading his Tarot and Incarnations of Immortality series, and a few of his other books as well, but for now I’m having fun rediscovering the Xanth books as I stumble upon them at the library. What can I say, I like to stay with the familiar. 🐱

Where to find Piers Anthony: Twitter, Facebook, Homepage

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Piers Anthony was one of my favorites for the longest time ! I’ve read most of his series that you mentioned, except maybe the Tarot series. Started with Xanth, of course, but as much as I loved the Mode series, the Incarnations of Immortality was my favorite series of his!