Willow’s Review of Bitten by Kelley Armstrong

Rating: 

Where to Purchase: Mysterious Galaxy, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Description:

Elena Michaels seems like the typically strong and sexy modern woman, She lives with her architect boyfriend, writes for a popular newspaper, and works out at the gym. She’s also a werewolf.

Elena has done all she can to assimilate to the human world, but the man whose bite changed her existence forever, and his legacy, continue to haunt her. Thrown into a desperate war for survival that tests her allegiance to a secret clan of werewolves, Elena must recon with who, and what, she is in this passionate, page-turning novel.

Review:

This is the second time I’ve read this novel and I must say that I enjoyed it just as much the second time as I did the first. Filled with memorable characters, lots of action, and a bit of steamy romance on the side, I was very happy to return to her series after a long break.

I really love Elena. She’s the perfect blend of wit, strength, and sarcasm. Several times I found myself giggling over a line of hers and dog earring the page for later rereading. She had some great one liners in this book. The only thing I didn’t like about her was her continual internal conflict over the men in her life. There were several moments where I wanted to hiss at her because she so readily returned to Clay and the pack even after swearing she wouldn’t. I wanted her to stay true to her desire to stay independent and I honestly think she could have succeeded had she put in just a bit more effort. I mean, I understand her reasons why, but I guess that’s what sets felines apart from those of the canine species, we don’t need a “pack” to keep us happy. I also couldn’t help but grow close to some of the secondary characters in the book. Jeremy and Logan were by far my favorites, though I’ll admit that I liked the other members of the pack as well. Actually, the only character I didn’t really care for was Clay. I found him arrogant, annoying, abrasive, and an all around jerk. I kept waiting for him to get knocked off his high horse, but sadly it never happened. Sigh

Another point in favor for this book was its pace. There’s a lot of action which keeps the book from feeling slow and the romance helps to add a bit of spice to it. At no time did I feel like the story was lagging. It held my interest through to the end, which is no mean feat given how easy it is to distract me at times.

So, as the first in a series, it’s definitely worth the read and I can’t wait to find out what happens in the second book! =^.^=

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ooooh… I’ve had this one sitting on my shelf for a while and have been meaning to read it. Great review!