Buggy’s Review of Memnoch the Devil by Anne Rice

Amazon Description:

In Anne Rice’s extraordinary novel, the Vampire Lestat–outsides, canny monster, hero-wanderer–is at last offered the chance to be redeemed.

He is brought into direct confrontation with both God and the Devil, and into the land of Death.

We are in New York.  The city is blanketed in snow.  Through the whiteness Lestat is searching for Dora, the beautiful and charismatic daughter of a drug lord, the woman who arouses Lestat’s tenderness as no mortal ever has.

While torn between his vampire passions and his overwhelming love for Dora, Lestat is  confronted by the most dangerous of adversaries he has yet known.

He is snatched from the world itself by the mysterious Memnoch, who claims to be the Devil. He is invited to be a witness at the Creation.  He is taken like the ancient prophets into the heavenly realm and is ushered into Purgatory.

He must decide if he can believe in the Devil or in God.  And finally, he must decide which, if either, he will serve.

In the first four Vampire Chronicles, Anne Rice summoned up for us worlds that are fantastic and distant, making them as resonant, real, and immediate as our own.  In this, her most daring and darkest novel, she takes us, with Lestat, into the mythical world that is most important to us–into the realms of our own theology.

Review:

I read this book as part of the Book Whore Book Club, hosted by Book Whore. When we first started this book I was excited because it’s been a long time since I last read a book by Anne Rice. Unfortunately, halfway through the reading, my excitement died and it became one of the hardest things ever for me to continue reading. I’ve never read a book where I’ve gone from absolutely loving it to wanting to bury it in the liter pan in just a few chapters 😦

Honestly, this book bored me! Okay, it didn’t bore me at first. I enjoyed the scenes involving David, Roger, and Dora. Part of me would have been happy if Rice had just told a story involving these characters only, but then I guess it wouldn’t be called Memnoch the Devil. And I’ll admit that I even found Memnoch himself to be an interesting and puzzling character. The book started off strong and was very compelling. Sadly though, by chapter ten I began to lose interest. And by the end of the book I was not only lost, but completely turned off to the entire book.

I know that I will more than likely alienate a few readers with what I’m about to say next, but I’m the type of feline who feels that talking around a subject just isn’t healthy and given how old I am, I’m not in the mood to play those games. So let me tell you straight…I hate books that deal mostly with religion! I don’t care if the book is a National Best Seller. If I start to feel like the book is basically shoving religion at me, I’ll happily bury it in the liter pan! The only reason I didn’t do that with this book is because of the book club. If it wasn’t for those folks, I’d have given up on the book a long time ago.

So you are probably asking why, if I hated the book as much as I did, have I given it three paws. Because there are still elements to the book that made it worth reading. As I said, I enjoyed getting to know Roger, seeing more of David, and have always had a thing for Lestat. Plus I feel that if you can get around Rice’s long-winded speeches as told by Memnoch, the book itself brings up interesting discussion points. It made me think about what I knew regarding the Creation Story and the Crucifixion of Christ and it made me think of them in a different light. There are moments of brilliance within this book, but you have to wade through a lot of boring/unnecessary talk to get there.

Posted on April 28, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Buggy’s Review of Memnoch the Devil by Anne Rice.

Comments are closed.