Sara’s Review of Red Fox by Karina Halle + Giveaway

Goodreads Description:

With Book Two of the Experiment in Terror Series, Perry Palomino and Dex Foray trade in the stormy Oregon coast for the unforgiving deserts of New Mexico.

In the for­got­ten town of Red Fox, a Navajo cou­ple is tor­tured by things unseen and by motives unknown. Wild ani­mals slink through their house in the dark, a bar­rage of stones pound their roof nightly, and muti­lated sheep car­casses are turn­ing up on their prop­erty. Armed with a cam­era and just enough to go on, Perry and Dex travel to the des­o­late locale, hop­ing to film the super­nat­ural occur­rences and add cred­i­bil­ity to their flail­ing web­cast. Only their show has a lot more work­ing against them than just grow­ing pains. Tested by dubi­ous ranch hands, a ghost from Dex’s past, and shapeshift­ing decep­tion, the ama­teur ghost hunters must learn to trust each other in order to fight the most ancient of myths…or die trying.

Rating:

Review:

This is the second book in Halle’s, Experiment in Terror series, and I have to admit that this one definitely gave me the creeps. From shapeshifters to things that really do go bump in the night, this book is guaranteed to send shivers down your spine. Murr!

I’ll admit that after the first book, I went into this one with mixed feelings towards the main characters. I like Perry and her sarcasm makes me smirk a lot, plus I still find her to be an easy character to relate to in many ways, but I just wish she had more confidence in herself, especially after everything that happened in book one. I mean seriously, what self-respecting 22-year-old agrees to check in with mom & dad daily or risk getting calls every hour on the hour? Maybe it’s just me, but I can’t wait for Perry to take a stand with her parents. As far as Dex goes…I really disliked this character at the start of the book. His personality rubs my fur the wrong way on so many levels. However, I will admit that as the story progressed, my feelings for him changed dramatically. After reading about some of what happened to him in his past, I finally started to understand why he is as he is. Yes, I still think that Dex can be a bit of an ass at times, but I now feel that he really is the perfect complement to Perry.

I really loved the Navajo beliefs that are discussed in this book. Between the discussion of skinwalkers to the sweat-lodge scene, I found it all to be fascinating! This made the book come alive for me and part of that is because, it’s real. I’m not saying that I truly believe skinwalkers exist, but the beliefs and practices depicted in the novel still happen today amongst many Native American cultures. The fact that its tangible is what really made the book creepy. Many times I found myself wondering, What if? Just thinking about it sends shivers through my fur. Murr!

Halle has also created some wonderful secondary characters with this story. Maximus, Rudy, Bird, Shan, Sarah, just to name a few. Like Perry, I found myself loving Bird as a grandfatherly figure. He is by far my favorite out of all of them, though I will admit to liking Maximus a bit as well. Sarah by far is the creepiest of all the secondary characters. Halle did an excellent job in making her mannerism and personality skin shivery.

The only thing that I had a problem with regarding this book was the pacing. I felt that it took too long for the plot to pick up in intensity. The beginning scenes didn’t feel that important to me. I wanted to jump right and see Perry and Dex in action. Once they got to Red Fox I could not stop reading, but up until that point I was finding it hard to really care about it all. I’m not saying that I wasn’t curious about what happened to Perry concerning her job with the ad agency or what the results of the pilot show were, but I just felt like these events were more inconsequential to the overall plot. But that’s just me and, as I always say, your mileage may vary.

I’m definitely looking forward to finding out what happens next to Perry and Dex in the next book of the series! Here’s hoping for further chills, shivers, and scares. Murr! Be sure to check back for my reviews on Dead Sky Morning and Lying Season in the days to come. =^.^=  And now for the giveaway!!

Giveaway:

Starting today, April 19, and running until 11:59 pm on April 24, I’ll be offering up an ebook copy of one of Halle’s novels. Yes you read that right! One lucky winner will get to choose which book he or she wants to receive. Murr! That means you get to pick between Red Fox, Dead Sky Morning, and Lying Season. Pretty cool huh?! All you have to do to enter is fill out the form below. Winner will be drawn using Random.org.

Now I know some of you are probably asking why I didn’t include Darkhouse in the list and that’s because for a limited time only, you can download the first book of the Experiment in Terror series for free! That’s right, I said free! Just visit any of the following sites, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, and download your copy today! =^.^=

And the winner is, Michelle Hampton! Congrats! ~purrs and tail waves~ Be on the look out for an email from me asking which title you would like to receive from the author soon. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Murr!

About the Author:

From the day she was born in Van­cou­ver, BC, Karina Halle always stood out from the crowd. Born with club feet, she spent the first six years of her life in casts on both legs. Though her dis­abil­ity pre­vented her from becom­ing a prima bal­le­rina, it did allow her imag­i­na­tion to flow freely as she cre­ated her own lit­tle worlds where noth­ing was impos­si­ble (unfor­tu­nately, those worlds tended to be on the macabre side – some things don’t change). Fast for­ward to age 18 when she decided to forgo the usual route by back­pack­ing by her­self around Aus­tralia and New Zealand and she really learned the value of being fear­less. That same ambi­tion piloted her through numer­ous trav­els, a bachelor’s degree in jour­nal­ism, var­i­ous cer­tifi­cates in film and writ­ing, a suc­cess­ful blog, her cur­rent work as a rock music jour­nal­ist and, of course, her devo­tion to the Exper­i­ment in Ter­ror series. Karina cur­rently resides in Vancouver’s West End and can often be found with a bot­tle of wine, lis­ten­ing to her music a bit too loudly.

Links: WebsiteBlog Tour InfoGoodReads

As always, I’d like to thank the folks at AToMR Book Tours for letting me participate in this event! And please visit the other blogs participating to read their reviews on the other books in the series. Simply click HERE to see the list. Murr!

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Book Reviews, Contest. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.