Sara’s Review of Darkhouse by Karina Halle

Goodreads Description:

With all the vampire, werewolf and faerie books out there, it’s easy to become numb to all things supernatural. The antidote? Darkhouse introduces two real and unforgettable characters, Perry Palomino & Dex Foray, amateur ghost hunters who are “attractive, relatable and oddly heroic,” “flawed but loveable,” “slightly crazy” and just the most endearing pair to ever tackle the paranormal…just don’t call them normal. Darkhouse is a thrilling and sexy new take on concepts like Supernatural and The X-Files, bringing a breath of fresh air to a genre that has been inundated with the dead.

Review:

This is one of those books I picked up after having received the forth book from the author herself in a giveaway. Whenever I get a book that is part of a series, I always have to go and read the ones leading up to it. It’s a must for this feline. Murr! So I’ll admit to having gone into reading this without much idea on what to expect and I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

Halle knows how to create a truly spin tingling ghost story! There were several moments where I felt my fur start to stand on end, especially right at the end with the Creepy Clown Lady in the public restroom. Worst nightmare right there! I also greatly enjoyed the drowning scene and the lighthouse ghost. Have I mentioned I love a great ghost story? Murr! The scenes involving paranormal events are so vividly described, this book really does make you shiver at times.

I also enjoyed Halle’s main female character, Perry. She’s got a very witty personality, is easy to relate to, and has believable insecurities about herself. They aren’t over the top or in your face as I’ve seen some characters have. The only real problem I had with her was the lack of growth in confidence in herself as the story progressed. After everything that happens to her in this book, I’d expect her to be a bit stronger and surer of herself in the end, but I didn’t feel like much really changed for her when all is said and done. Hopefully as the series progresses Perry will become the strong, kick-butt and ask questions later type character that I enjoy seeing in books.

There were a couple of things that kept me from giving this a four paw rating. The first being Halle’s main male character, Dex. Now you all know I love the bad boys, but Dex just seriously rubbed my fur the wrong way. He seriously struck me as being a total ass and most of the time I wanted to smack him upside the head. Like Perry, I could never get a solid read on him personality wise. If I wasn’t annoyed by him, I was completely confused. There was, however, one shining moment where I started to like him and that was towards the very end of the book. Dex stands up for Perry against his boss. I couldn’t help but cheer for him at that point. Unfortunately it wasn’t enough to completely win me over though. It will be interesting to see if I have the same feelings for him in the second book.

The other thing that prevented me from really liking this book was that it’s slow. I kind of felt like the majority of the story was spent introducing and building the characters rather than the main plot of the story. The events at the lighthouse are just a small portion of the book when compared to everything else discussed. I found myself wanting more ghost hunting scenes and less of Perry at her receptionist job.

Despite this though, the book is a fast read and it does do a good job of setting things up for the rest of the series. Given Perry’s uncanny connection with the dead, you just know that the next book is going to be interesting!

Rating:

You can find Darkhouse for purchase at: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Darkhouse by Karina Halle.

Comments are closed.