Sara’s Review of My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent

This post is in response to the Soul Screamers Reading Challenge hosted by Fiktshun. If you are looking for a fun reading challenge to participate in, I highly recommend you check this one out. Murr!

Goodreads Description:

When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.

So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn’t wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can’t cry for someone who has no soul.

The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand.

Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk…

Review:

Yet another great book from Vincent! Once again I found myself getting caught up in the story and unable to put the book down. I’m really enjoying this series. Murr!

One of the things that I am keeping track of as I read these books is my feelings towards the main characters, in particular the Hudson boys, Tod and Nash. I was impressed with how Vincent wrote her characters in the first book and I will admit that my feels towards them haven’t changed all that much after reading this one. I still admire Kaylee and her desire to follow her heart and protect those she loves. I’m still unsure about Nash. Part of me really likes him, but another part of me finds him a bit too over protective. I mean, I understand he reasons why, but after a while it starts to get tiresome. I’ve never been a big fan of this type of character. And then there’s Tod. Dark, humorous, wonderful Tod. I love him just as much now as I did in the first book. I have to give massive purrs to him for wanting to save Addy even though she had no one but herself to blame for the trouble she was in. Yes, I’m seriously a Team Tod feline. Murr!

Another thing that I enjoyed about this novel was Vincent’s portrayal of the Dekker Media. I simply couldn’t stop comparing it to Disney. Now maybe it is an unfair comparison, but it always amazed me how fast they turned out young adult stars. The similarity was just too remarkable for this feline. And I’ll admit that when I read it, I couldn’t help but snicker over it. Don’t get me wrong, I love Disney, but I’ve had my suspicions about them for years. It was amusing to see those suspicions in print.

The last thing I’d like to mention is Vincent’s skill at world building. Have I mentioned that I absolutely love how she makes everything in her books seem real? No? Well, I do! I had chills running down my spine every time Kaylee journeyed to the Netherworld. It’s just the right amount of creepy yet intriguing. Vincent has a real talent for describing creatures that would most likely give this feline nightmares if they were real. ~shivers at the thought~

Yes, the Soul Screamers series has got me hooked and I can’t stress enough how glad I am to have finally started reading them. Can’t wait to share my thoughts with you on book three! Murr!

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent.

Comments are closed.