Sara’s Review of My Soul to Keep by Rachel Vincent

This post is in response to the Soul Screamers Reading Challenge hosted by Fiktshun. If you are looking for a fun reading challenge to participate in, I highly recommend you check this one out. Murr!

Goodreads Description:

Kaylee has one addiction: her very hot, very popular boyfriend, Nash. A banshee like Kaylee, Nash understands her like no one else. Nothing can come between them.Until something does.Demon breath. No, not the toothpaste-challenged kind. The Netherworld kind. The kind that really can kill you. Somehow the super-addictive substance has made its way to the human world. But how? Kaylee and Nash have to cut off the source and protect their friends—one of whom is already hooked.And so is someone else…

Review:

Out of three books in the series that I have read so far, I think this is my favorite! I say “think” because I’ve still got two more left to read for the challenge, and Vincent has two more waiting to be released, so things might change dramatically over the next few months to a year from now. Murr!

So, let me just jump right in and say that any respect that I had for Nash is now officially gone. As I mentioned in the previous two reviews, I had my doubts about him, but I was still willing to give him the benefit of the doubt given that I believe he really does love Kaylee. Unfortunately, his actions in this novel are, in my opinion, unforgivable. He’s got a lot of work to do to redeem himself in my eyes. Now I’m sure there are a few folks out there saying, “But Sara, Tod was just as much at fault for some of what happened as Nash was.” And I agree, Tod did contribute to the overall problem, but he isn’t to blame for Nash’s actions. Likewise it can be argued that Kaylee inadvertently had a hand in all of it as well, given her actions in the previous book. But when all is said and done, it all comes back to Nash being responsible for his own mess and actions. Instead of seeking help when he knew there was a problem, he chose to be irresponsible and, as a result, he put everyone at risk. It’s inexcusable and unforgivable.

Having said that, I will grudgingly admit to being a bit disappointed in both Tod and Kaylee for how they handled the situation. I didn’t approve of Tod’s involvement, even though his intentions in the grand scheme of things were to be commended. I also didn’t approve of Kaylee’s feeling responsible for what happened to Nash, but I applaud the strength she had to walk away at the end. There was a lot of character growth in this book, especially surrounding Kaylee. It is safe to say that no one walked away from this one unscathed.

As for all the other elements that I’ve discussed in previous reviews, they are all still present and going strong in this novel. The Netherworld continues to get more complex and the plot still has the power to keep me reading long after I should have stopped. This series just keeps getting better with each book! And given everything that happens in this one, it’s hard not to share spoilers. As such, I think I’m just going to end this review by saying, Vincent continues to create a rich world filled with memorable characters. If you’ve not yet read this series, what is stopping you?

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of My Soul to Keep by Rachel Vincent.

Comments are closed.