Sara’s Review of Hunted by Cheryl Rainfield

Published: December 15th 2011

Publisher: WestSide Books

Rating:

Where to Purchase: Mysterious GalaxyAmazon, Barnes and Noble

Goodreads Description:

Caitlyn is a telepath in a world where having any Paranormal power is illegal. Caitlyn is on the run from government troopers, who can enslave, torture, or even kill her, or make her hunt other Paranormals. When Caitlyn settles down in a city, she falls for Alex, a Normal (someone without Paranormal powers), which is dangerous because he can turn her in. And she discovers renegade Paranormals who want to destroy all Normals. Caitlyn must decide whether she’s going to stay in hiding to protect herself, or take a stand to save the world.

Review:

This was one of those books that I could have easily read in one sitting. Murr! It was very easy to become engrossed in Rainfield’s novel. Her characters are believable, the world is strongly built, and the plot pulls you in until you almost feel like it’s real. If you are looking for a YA title that will leave you breathless, I suggest you give this book a try. 🐱

The thing that stood out the most for me with this story was how skillfully Rainfield evoked my emotions as I was reading. Several times I felt my fur stand on end in anticipation as events took a dramatic turn and there was even a scene which caused me to yowl in anger at a character. It’s not often that I get emotionally caught up in a story, at least not to the point where I find myself holding my breath until the characters reach safety. Cameron literally checked twice to make sure I was actually breathing when I first started reading (I made sure to hide from her the rest of the time until I was done).

I also loved the cast of characters that Rainfield created. I found myself empathizing with Caitlyn, both loathing and pitying Daniel, enjoying the sweetness that was Rachel, and generally liking Alex, though I’ll admit I was skeptical about him at first. Rainfield’s supporting characters were also well-developed. Becca, Ilene, Mrs. Vespa, etc., all possessed qualities which made them memorable. There wasn’t a single character who didn’t have something to offer in the book. No one was just a “filler” character.

On a side note of things that I enjoyed, I had to purr over Rainfield’s message that books are important. There are a couple of times where Caitlyn recalls her father telling her that reading makes the mind stronger. It might not seem important to some readers, but to this feline, who lacks a Para gift, it’s comforting to know that all my time spent reading has been well worth it. Murr!

Hunted is intense. The plot deals with issues that range from segregation, oppression, fear propaganda, and more. It’s not what I would call “light reading.” It will stay with you after you’ve finished. And it will make you think. Though the book is a work of fiction, the events are ones that could very easily happen within society and I think that is what really drew me in while I was reading.

I’m definitely looking forward to the second book of this series when it becomes available. In the meantime, Rainfield has given fans a bonus short story called PinPoint, which I plan to check out soon. After everything that has happened to Caitlyn so far, I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Tour Information:

Please visit JKSCommunications site HERE to see other blogs participating in this tour! And be sure to come back April 11, when I host a special Q&A with the author herself. Murr!

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great review for a book I probably wouldn’t have seen without it, will definitely be adding to my tbr list – have just followed your twitter – look forward to seeing more reviews 🙂

    Mel

  1. Pingback: Hunted Blog Tour! Part 1 « Happy Tails and Tales Blog

  2. Pingback: Interview with Cheryl Rainfield, Author of Hunted « What the Cat Read