Our Favorite Authors: Gail Carriger

New York Times Bestselling author Gail Carriger writes to cope with being raised in obscurity by an expatriate Brit and an incurable curmudgeon. She escaped small town life and inadvertently acquired several degrees in Higher Learning. Ms. Carriger then traveled the historic cities of Europe, subsisting entirely on biscuits secreted in her handbag. She resides in the Colonies, surrounded by fantastic shoes, where she insists on tea imported from London.

The Parasol Protectorate books are: Soulless, Changeless, Blameless, Heartless, and Timeless. Soulless won the ALA’s Alex Award. A manga version will release March 2012. She is currently writing young adult books set in the same universe ~ the Finishing School series (Feb. 2013). Soon she will begin a new adult series, The Parasol Protectorate Abroad (for Fall 2013).

The Parasol Protectorate series was my introduction to the ever-growing Steampunk genre. I’d had several friends recommend many of the YA titles that were available, but for some reason I just could never convince myself to pick one up. It wasn’t that the book didn’t look interesting, but mainly that with everything that out there that I wanted to read, these just never seemed all that vital. So when I was hanging out in my local library and found a copy of Soulless sitting on the shelf, I will admit to picking it up out of curiosity but not much enthusiasm.

So imagine my surprise when I found I could not put the book down! I loved the descriptions of the Victorian clothing, the blending of paranormal with historic London, and the humor that runs rampant in the series. And the characters! Alexia, Ivy, Conall, Lord Akeldama…the entire cast became some of my favorite book friends. I just had to find out what happened to them in the next book.

Upon the release of Timeless, the final book of the series, I met up with fellow fans of the series at Mysterious Galaxy, my local independent bookstore, on March 1, 2012 to meet Gail, get books signed, and generally have fun. The event was standing room only with what looked like over 100 people (some in full costume). It was a wonderful evening and Gail was the perfect hostess.

While Alexia’s adventure had come to an end, Gail assured fans that her writing would continue and plans were being made to create a whole new series of books featuring a character introduced in Heartless (book 4). Needless to say I will be reading this series as well as her new YA series once they are available!

And so, it is thanks to Gail and her fabulous books that I found a deep love for the Steampunk genre. I also have dreams of one day putting my own costume together so that when next she comes to town for a signing I can play one of her characters. =^.^=  If you’ve not yet had a chance to read this series of books, what ever are you waiting for?!

You can find Gail on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and by visiting her Author Page.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What beautiful artwork!