Sara’s Reviews of the Blind Sight Novels by Ermilia

This is the first time I’ve ever reviewed two books in one post before. Normally I don’t make it a habit, but after having read both of them, they need to be discussed together. Murr! I want to first give massive purrs to the authors, Ermisenda and Eliabeth for letting me participate in this tour. Blind Sight is a very intriguing story and I’m looking forward to finding out what happens next in the series. Both of these books can be read independently, but if you want to get a full understanding of what is happening, I would advise reading both at some point in time. That having been said, on to the reviews. Murr!

Goodreads Description: A blind girl drawing is abnormal even on the magical island of Edaion where leaves brush themselves into piles in the middle of the night. As an immigrant, Leocardo is not biased by accepted rules of magic and determines that Odette’s drawings are premonitions. Aniela grew up with magic and knows premonitions are impossible. She determines Odette is a medium channeling voiceless spirits.

In this volume: Snatched out of their life in Spain, Leocardo and his blind sister Odette find themselves on an island with no recollection of the trip. After foiled attempts to escape, Odette’s strange behavior gets worse. Even after learning the island has bestowed magic upon them both, Leocardo faces the possibility his sister is having a mental break down. Just as he thinks he is settled in, job and romantic life stable, Odette disappears.

Review:

I’m wishing that I had read this story first out of the two! Not only did I connect with Leocardo (Leo) more than I did Aniela (Ana), but I also enjoyed reading his take on the events surrounding his sister. Ermisenda did a great job bringing the characters to life and creating a rich plot-line that kept me reading nonstop from page one.

Leo is one of those characters that I would expect to meet in real life. His struggle to adjust to life in Edaion and his feelings of helplessness and confusion towards his sister’s health made him easy to relate too. Likewise Ana and Odette felt more alive in this book than they did in Aniela’s story. And yes, a lot of this has to do with the fact that it is written by a different author. I truly enjoyed Ermisenda’s writing. I felt that she had a better grasp of who the characters were and how to convey them within the storyline. The pacing of events felt smoother and the overall plot fit better with Leo’s telling than from Ana’s.

The other thing that I enjoyed within regards to this book was getting Leo’s views on the secondary characters in more detail. Since he is a new comer to Edaion, you get to meet everyone for the first time and are able to create your own opinions on them without the familiar views that come from Ana’s friendship and growing up with them all. It was easier for me to get into the story as it was told from an outsider’s perspective rather than an insider’s one. Of course, your mileage may vary and this is why I would strongly suggest picking up Aniela’s story and giving it a read through after finishing Leo’s story. Not only will you get a different perspective on things, but you’ll also get more insight into the land of Edaion and definitely learn a lot more about Ana.

That having been said, let’s move on to my review of Aniela’s story. Murr!

Goodreads Description: A blind girl drawing is abnormal even on the magical island of Edaion where leaves brush themselves into piles in the middle of the night. As an immigrant, Leocardo is not biased by accepted rules of magic and determines that Odette’s drawings are premonitions. Aniela grew up with magic and knows premonitions are impossible. She determines Odette is a medium channeling voiceless spirits.

In this volume: While Aniela tries to escape a lifestyle where obligations take priority over friendships, she befriends Odette, a blind girl with the ability to draw. Almost immediately, concerns and questions arise as Aniela suspects that Odette’s gift is far stronger than any seen before. In the middle of family turmoil and a complicated romantic relationship with Odette’s brother, Aniela faces the realization that helping her comatose friend means disobeying her mother, something she has never done before.

Review:

I read this version of the story first and I’ll admit there were times where I felt lost. I certainly didn’t become as engrossed with this story as I did Leo’s. While Leocardo’s story focused entirely on him, his sister, and their adjustment to life in Edaion, Aniela’s story focuses on both her life as a royal and as a friend of Odette’s. There’s a lot more going on in Ana’s story than Leo’s, and if I am to be honest, I didn’t really care as much about Ana’s life when all is said and done. This is not to say that I didn’t enjoy getting Ana’s perspective on things. I just didn’t feel an immediate connection to her.

Likewise I wasn’t able to connect with Eliabeth’s writing style as much. There were moments where the plot felt choppy, as if something was missing or omitted on purpose, and the story lacked the richness in detail that Leo’s story had. I think if I had come to this story after having read Leo’s I’d have probably enjoyed it more. At the very least I wouldn’t have had as many questions going into it!

I’m not one who likes to write ambiguous reviews, but when it comes to this version of Blind Sight, I find that I am struggling to explain my views on it. I’m really curious to hear other reader’s opinions on this book! Please, if  you read Ana’s story and loved it, share your thoughts with me on it. Murr!

Meet the authors:

Ermisenda began writing Harry Potter fan-fiction at the age of twelve and started developing her own writing at fourteen when she joined play sites and completed her first crime novel at fifteen.  Although her favorite genres were crime and fantasy, she reads a bit of everything. Driven by the desire to evoke the kaleidoscope of emotions her favorite authors are able to, she kept writing. Growing up bilingual amongst her Spanish family in Australia, she found a love and deep appreciation for language and the power it wielded.  She is now a Psychology major at the University of Newcastle.

Eliabeth wrote her first mini-series in second grade when the teacher told her she was not old enough to write a chapter book.  Regrettably, for fear of turning into a starving artist, Eliabeth played it safe in college and is now a recent William Jewell graduate with a BA in International Business and Japanese.  She now returns to what she truly loves, creating worlds for people to escape to and characters for them to fall in love with.

Connect with us! We love to talk to our readers.

Blog
Facebook
Goodreads: (Eliabeth / Ermisenda)
Tumblr
Twitter

And now the question of the hour. Are we Team Ana or Team Leo? The answer is…

After reading both sides of the story, we felines are strong believers that Leo is right about his sister being a “seer“! So, who’s team are you on? Why not buy the books and decide for yourself. Murr!! Both volumes are available as an e-book for Kindle (Aniela’s vol. / Leocardo’s vol.) and Nook (Aniela’s vol. / Leocardo’s vol.) Don’t have an e-reader, pick up a PDF on Smashwords (Aniela’s vol. / Leocardo’s vol.)

The paperback special edition will be available in the fall (northern hemisphere).

To see all of the blogs participating in the tour, please visit HERE!

Posted on March 12, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so glad you were a part of the blog tour. We’ve learned alot about running a tour and giving advice about which side to recommend first. Book 2 is in the works and already looking better than book 1. I hope you keep in touch and stick around for the rest of the series.

    -Eliabeth Hawthorne

    • Sara here, murr! I definitely will be looking into the next installment of the series when it becomes available. If you end up wishing to host another tour, please know that I am more than willing to help out in any way!