Sara’s Review of Forsaken Harbor by Laura Kreitzer

Ever since I finished Kreitzer’s first book of the Summer Chronicles, Phantom Universe , I began watching for word on when the second book would be out. So the minute I saw that Revolution Publishing was looking for folk to participate in a tour for Forsaken Harbor, I pounced on it! I wish to thank Laura Kreitzer and Jennifer over at Revolution Publishing for allowing me to read and review this wonderful novel!

***

Goodreads Description

The Secret Clock Society has infiltrated every aspect of the government. You can’t hide from them, you can’t out run them—the only choice is to surrender or die fighting. Well, Summer’s found her voice and her confidence. She’ll fight if necessary, but for now she’s on the run. And the only place that can offer her refuge is the one city that’s been devastated with disease and death. Full of savages, Forsaken Harbor holds her life on the edge of a knife. Is there still hope to be found here after all? Or will survival mean savagery?

Review:

Murr! May I just say that I am absolutely in love with this series?! Kreitzer’s books are truly a joy to read. Forsaken Harbor holds the same amount of mystery, suspense, romance, and action as the first book in the series did. The characters have continued to grow and the world in which the story takes place is brilliantly well written and rich in imagery. It’s definitely a book which will appeal to readers of all ages.

The first thing I was looking for when I began reading this book was just how much of the back story Kreitzer would give. Seeing as this is the second book of the series and a lot occurred in the first book, I was curious how she would handle things. I was pleased to see that Kreitzer chose to give plenty of background information about events in Phantom Universe. Any reader coming to Forsaken Harbor would have no problems diving into the book and understanding what happened in the previous one. I’m not saying you can get away without reading the first book, why anyone would want to limit their exposure to just the one novel is beyond me, but there’s enough back story to make this a stand alone if you so desired…Though I will warn you that it ends on a cliff hanger, so there’s a good chance you’ll want to read the rest of the books in the series as they become available.

Back story aside, I was really impressed with how much Summer grew as a character in this story. She is really coming into her own as a strong leading character! It was fun to watch her go from being quiet and always letting others do the talking for her, to being an outspoken and confident young woman. I don’t want to say that Summer struck me as being very childish in the first book, but she definitely didn’t seem like a sixteen year old. Now, however, she’s acting her true age and I find that very refreshing.

Likewise it was nice to see more of Gage and Landon this time around. I’ve always liked Landon, so seeing him continue to stand up for Summer and yet also allow her be independent was great. Plus seeing him get his own chance to romance was fun too. Murr! In contrast, Gage has been an interesting character to me. I had mixed feelings for him in the first book and I think that was because I didn’t feel like he was around much. A part of me felt like he was too good to e true and just a tad too perfect a boyfriend. But now I can say with confidence that I really enjoy him. He’s got Summer’s best interests at heart, even if he takes the whole protection bit too far at times. Watching him deal with his jealousy towards Julian showed that he’s got his faults just like everyone else. I guess what I’m trying to say is he felt much more real in this book than he did in the first.

I loved, loved, LOVED the scene in which Summer learns to control her power! There was so much attention to detail that I actually had to read the scene twice because I found it so fascinating. The description of the nanomites and how they work to allow Summer to manipulate time was truly a well conceived idea! Is it wrong that I found myself itching to study Summer’s DNA and run my own tests in order to learn more? Yeah, this feline got caught up in the moment. Murr!

I also enjoyed the Recordings that Kreitzer interspersed in the story. These recording scenes help create a sense of mystery because as you read each one, more details concerning who is making them and why come to light. There are some surprising moments and while some questions get answered, other questions are created. They are the prefect lead up to the third book of the series, Burning Falls, which is sadly won’t be out until the end of the year. You can bet though that this feline will be keeping an eye out for news of its release. Murr! After everything that happened in this book, I’m now anxious to get my paws on the next one. 🐱

Interested in reading my thoughts on Phantom Universe?

Please check out our interview with Gage Appleton!

About the Author:

Laura is a motivated full time author, editor, reviewer, and publisher who hails from western Kentucky. She founded Revolution Publishing, a corporation that seeks the best and brightest online fiction writers. Her full-time 9-5 job used to be working in a lab devoted to water dye-tracing investigations at Western Kentucky University. In 2008 she traveled to Southwest University China to establish one of the first dye trace laboratories in China under the China Environmental Health Project. Though Laura was passionate in her work for the environment, her favorite hobby was always writing which blossomed into her debut series, the Timeless Series.

Please visit her website HERE!

Also, if you’re interested in visiting any of the other blogs participating in the tour, please click HERE for more author interviews and reviews!

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. what happened to giveaway results?