Our Favorite Authors – Lauren Royal

In our continuing quest to try new things, support authors, and spread the word about books we love, the felines and I have decided to do a monthly post where we spotlight an author whom we love. Our goal with “Our Favorite Authors” is to help our followers find new authors whom they might never have tried before and also thank those authors whom have touched our lives over the years. And since there is no shortage in authors whom we love, we are positive this monthly post will be a success! 🐱  And now for our first author spotlight!

***

Lauren Royal decided to become a writer in the third grade, after winning a Why My Mother is the Greatestessay contest and seeing her entry printed in a major newspaper. However, after college she spent fourteen years as the CEO of her own jewelry store chain before remembering her childhood dream and writing her first book. Since then, Lauren’s ten published books have won awards including the Golden Quill for Best Historical Romance, the Book Buyers Best Award, the Beacon Award, the Booksellers’ Best Award, and Booklist’s Top 10 Romance of the Year. Lauren lives in Southern California with her husband, three children, and one constantly shedding cat. She still thinks her mother is the greatest.

I first was introduced to Lauren Royal at a Scottish Highland Festival in Orange County, Ca where she was participating in a book signing. At the time I was unable to purchase a copy of her book, but I made it a point to sign up for her newsletter and had a wonderful time talking with Lauren about her stories. Later that year I was able to get my hands on a copy of Amethyst, the first book of her Jewel trilogy. Not only did I fall in love with the story, but my desire to read the rest of the books in the series increased and I quickly went out and found copies of the other two books, devouring each within just a few days of each other. Suffice it to say I was hooked and at this time I own all but 3 of her novels.

The monthly newsletters allowed me to stay on top of when books were being published, gave me insight into what was happening in Lauren’s life in relation to her writing, and also allowed me to enter giveaways for jewelery associated with each book. She was not only the first author I had ever met, but she was the first I truly followed so closely. And I enjoyed every minute of it! So it came as a surprise when one month I suddenly realized that the newsletters had stopped coming, and it was an even greater shock when I suddenly couldn’t find her books on shelves any more. It was like she had disappeared and I started to fear that I’d never get to read a new book by her ever again.

Then in January of this year (2012) I received a pleasant surprise when I logged into my email and found a newsletter from Lauren waiting there. In it Lauren said that she had decided to join the ranks of growing Indie Authors and was in the process of revising all of her books and re-releasing them both in paperback and Ebook format! Plus she would be publishing new work in the coming years as well. I’ll admit, I was grinning and dancing like a fool after reading this. Even though I have met several authors since first meeting Lauren, she still remains one of my all time favorites and I’m anxiously waiting to read her new stuff when it becomes available!

And so, I thought it only proper to have our first favorite authors post be on her in the hopes of not only introducing you all to this wonderful woman, but also to help support her as she takes this momentous step towards being an Indie Author. Welcome back Lauren! You have been greatly missed. ❤

You can find Lauren on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and by visiting her Author Page.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful surprise, Cameron! I am so grateful for special readers like you–you really have no idea how much it means to me. Hugs to you and your darling cats, and thank you so much for sticking with me for all these years!

  1. Pingback: Flower Trilogy by Lauren Royal – New Covers Reveal « What the Cat Read