Sara’s Review of My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent


This post is in response to the first month of the Soul Screamers Reading Challenge hosted by Fiktshun. If you are looking for a fun reading challenge to participate in, I highly recommend you check this one out. Murr!

Goodreads Description
She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

Review

I’m not entirely sure why I waited so long to begin reading this series. Murr! I really enjoyed this book. It’s unique, has believable characters, is engaging to the reader, and very fast paced. For the first of a series, Vincent does a great job of hooking her readers and making them want to find out what happens next.

I don’t think I’ve read a book that features the character having such a unique talent as the one Kaylee has. Though I’ll admit, I have to wonder if it really is a talent and not a curse. To be able to know when someone is about to die is a gift this feline does not want. Still, I have to admire Kaylee for her ability to cope with it. My sympathy and respect for her grew as the story progressed.

Nash, and Tod are some of the most interesting characters I’ve read to date. On the one hand I liked Nash, while on the other I, like Kaylee, was suspicious of his intentions. He seems almost to good to be true and I can’t help but feel uncomfortable concerning his “talent” and the ease with which he uses it on Kaylee. Meanwhile I instantly fell for Tod when he appeared in the story. He’s got that bad boy vibe going, but I think that inside he’s got a heart of gold. I can’t wait to see how these characters develop as the series progresses. I wonder if my feelings for them will change at all as I continue to read the books?

Not only was I impressed with the characters, I was surprised with how easy it was for me to get into the story. In fact, by the time I got to the end and discovered who was responsible for the deaths of the girls and why, I literally hissed in surprise. I didn’t see it coming at all even though I probably should have. The clues were there, I just wasn’t skilled enough to put all the pieces together. Now that I know what happens, I sort of what to go back and reread it in order to see all the hints Vincent makes. 🐱

Can’t wait to start book two of the series, My Soul to Save, for this challenge. Let’s hear it for Team Tod! Murr!!

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent.

Comments are closed.