Sara’s Review of Asylum by K.A. Tucker

Publication Date: December 12th 2011

Publisher: Papoti Books

Book compliments of the author KA Tucker for an honest review

Available at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords

Goodreads Book Description:

Tucked away in Sofie’s wintery asylum with no hope of release for years, Evangeline must come to terms with her situation: the curse still plagues her, she’s now hunted by a two thousand-year-old vampire, and the guy she’s in love with tried to kill her. Plus, she’s locked up with a cranky Max and the Forero kids—two people everyone seems to prefer dead over alive. Things aren’t looking good.

Meanwhile, back in Manhattan, Sofie struggles to keep forty trapped and bloodthirsty Ratheus vampires at bay and a desperate Viggo from killing Evangeline’s friends, all while hints stir outside the walls of the NYC vampire asylum of a war brewing between the Sentinel and the witches.

Is there any hope for Evangeline and Caden? Can Sofie control the rival powers? Is the fate of Earth predestined? Find out in Book 2 of the Causal Enchantment series, a sequel to ANATHEMA.

Review:

Tucker has done it again! Asylum is one of those books I didn’t want to put down because of everything that was happening within the story. This book is filled with claw biting excitement, heart-break, and mystery. If you haven’t read the first book of this series, then I suggest you do so as soon as possible because Asylum picks up right after the events in Anathema.

Unlike Anathema which is told entirely from Evangeline’s point of view, Asylum is told both by Evangeline and Sofie. Rather than focus entirely on the events taking place in Evangeline’s life, Tucker flawlessly blends both points of views and allows her readers the opportunity to follow Sofie around as she tries to deal with things back in New York. Having Sofie’s point of view allowed me to not only get to know her better as a character, but also opened up new insights into events that occurred in the first book. Questions that were not answered in Anathema were answered here thanks to Tucker giving us Sofie’s point of view. Course, new questions arise from this as well, but that was to be expected.

As if the alternating points of view were not enough to make this story great, Tucker’s characters continue to shine throughout the pages. I found a new favorite in Mage, a vampire who is much more than she seems. Readers only got a brief glimpse of her in book one, but in Asylum she is in the spotlight! She’s strong, cunning, mysterious, and so much more. I really hope she’s a part of the third book. Murr! I also greatly enjoyed seeing more of Leo in this book. He is another character who grew on me as the story unfolded. Actually, it seemed to me as if Tucker decided to develop her secondary characters more, allowing them their moment to shine and gain attention. This choice has definitely made the story more complex because you start to see more of what is at stake and how intricate everyone’s involvement in the Casual Enchantment really is.

Now I will admit that in the middle of reading the story I did have to walk away for a short while. Not because I wasn’t enjoying it mind you, but because of the tragedies that take place. Yes, that’s right, I said tragedies, plural. I will not say which beloved characters die as that would be a spoiler, and I don’t approve of spoilers, but I will say that I had to mourn their passing for a few days. I shall also admit that I did not see these deaths coming. I expected something bad to happen, but I didn’t fully expect this.

The ending left me yowling in disbelief. Poor Evangeline seriously cannot win! Just when it looks like she’s going to get her wish…oops sorry, almost gave away the ending there. Well, let me just say that at the end of the book you will be wishing that book three were available, because once again Tucker leaves you with a cliff hanger. The adventure has only just begun it seems and the ending, when it comes, promises to be spectacular!

So to wrap up, allow me to say that I am greatly impressed with the world that Tucker has created. The Casual Enchantment series has been a joy to read and I’m very sadden by the fact that I have to walk away from it for now. This feline’s paws are itching to find out what happens next! You can bet that I’m counting down the days till the release of book three. Murr!

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Sara’s Review of Asylum by K.A. Tucker.

Comments are closed.