Sara’s Review of Anathema by K.A. Tucker

Publication Date: July 15th 2011

Publisher: Papoti Books

Book compliments of the author KA Tucker for an honest review

Available at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords

Goodreads Book Description:

Evangeline has spent her teenage years in obscurity. Her foster parents have the emotional aptitude of robots and her classmates barely acknowledge her existence. About to turn eighteen and feeling like a social pariah, she is desperate to connect with someone. Anyone.

When Evangeline meets Sophie after literally stumbling upon her café, she believes she’s found that connection. Willing to do anything to keep it, she accepts a job as Sofie’s assistant and drops everything to fly to Manhattan, where she is thrust into a luxurious world of Prada, diamonds, and limitless cash.

With such generosity and kindness, it’s easy for Evangeline to dismiss certain oddities… like Sofie’s erratic and sometimes violent behavior, and the monstrous guard dogs. She’s even willing to dismiss her vivid dreams of mob-style murders, beautiful homeless people living in caves, and white-eyed demons that haunt her each night as figments of her imagination—especially when one of those figments is the gorgeous Caden. When she wakes up with bite marks on her neck, the fairy tale quickly turns into a nightmare. She slowly unravels the mystery surrounding Sofie and friends, and the reality of the bites and the “dreams.” What she discovers is far more mysterious and terrible than anything she could have imagined.

In a world where everyone has motive to lie for personal gain, Evangeline must decide which deception is least likely to get her killed.

Review:

This is not your typical vampire story! Tucker has done a fabulous job in creating a story that will leave the reader wanting more by the time the last page is turned. Yes, this feline was pacing anxiously upon finishing due to the cliff hanger at the end. That’s right, there’s a cliff hanger. Thankfully I didn’t have to wait long to start book 2 in the series…but you’ll have to wait until Thursday to read my thoughts on Asylum, book 2 of the Casual Enchantment series. Today is all about Anathema! 🐱

Can I just say that I loved Tucker’s characters. And by love I mean that, while I definitely had my favorites, I enjoyed both the main and secondary characters immensely! Each one was well written and had a quality that struck a cord within me. For the first time this year, I’ve found a story that brought all of its characters to life in my mind. I loathed Viggo and Rachel, loved Sofie, was charmed by Amelie and Fiona, drooled over Caden, felt kinship towards Max, and could relate to Evangeline’s feeling of isolation/loneliness all to well. I could go on, but you get the idea.

Likewise the novel’s plot was fascinating to this feline. Without giving too much away, because I do not believe in sharing spoilers, let me just say that I don’t plan on ever doing anything that would cause the Fates to want to meddle in my life, or anyone’s for that matter, ever! Plus Tucker’s world building for both New York and Ratheus was amazing. To go from the hustle and bustle that is modern-day New York to a decimated world like Ratheus is mind-blowing. Ah, did the mention of Fates make your ears perk up in interest? Curious to find out what this world Ratheus is all about? Well you’ll have to read the book to find out what it is I’m talking about. Murr!

NEways, this book is a fast read filled with surprises and a bit of romance. Tucker steadily builds the suspense and draws the reader further into her world with each chapter. To say I was hooked is an understatement. I kept wondering how Tucker was going to tie everything together, kept asking myself how it all connected, and as I continued to read I found the answers to my questions waiting right there for me to discover. And yes, while not all of my questions were answered in this book, most of the important ones were given some form of closure, though their closure only created a whole series of new ones in time for book 2. Have I mentioned that I love authors who keep me in suspense wondering what will happen next? Murr!

So, if you’ve not yet tried this book, I suggest you snag a copy today and give it a read. Trust me, you won’t regret it! And be sure to check out our guest post by the wonderful KA Tucker as she stops by our page to promote Asylum, her next book in the Casual Enchantment series! You won’t want to miss it. Murr!

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I am absolutly in love with that book cover. I’m reading the night circus now, but the book addict in me wants to buy this book and start reading it. What a scrumptious cover.

    • Loved Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus! We’ve got plans on listening to the audio version sometime this year just to see how it compares emotion wise. We’re really curious to learn how the emotions come across to the listener with this one. 🐱

  2. I just noticed that it says the book is free. Good stuff!

  3. First rate editorial. Continue to keep up the incredible performance.

  4. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  5. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

  6. awesome reading for any person who enjoys this sort of stuff. I know that I certainly do.

  7. my wife seriously loves your website and she wanted me to come and let you know just how much she enjoys it.

    • Do please let your wife know that we give our thanks! ~purr~ We work hard to make this blog enjoyable to our readers, so it is always a joy to hear back from folks who like it. We hope you both continue to visit our page throughout the year. 🐱