Something to Hiss About: The Value of Honesty

It’s been a while since I felt the need to write a post about a topic that weights heavily on my mind. But given a lot of discussions that I’ve seen around the net of late and within the book blogging community in general, I felt it was time to address an issue that impacts me and the felines as bloggers. The issue in question: honesty (in particular concerning that of reviews). Originally I had no plans on writing a post concerning this topic, but when I realized that I’d been holding off posting reviews as a direct result of all that had occurred recently, I knew that I needed to say a few quick words on the matter.

The main job of a book reviewer, of any reviewer in fact, is to express their opinion on a particular subject matter, whether that be towards books, movies, art, whatever. These reviews, while being of some assistance to the creators of said works, are primarily for the consumer to help him/her decide whether to invest further in the product being reviewed. As such, it is the job of the reviewer to provide an honest review of the product in question, be it in favor of or against it.

With that being said, What the Cat Read is all about honesty. If we like or dislike a book, we are going to write a review that expresses our feelings accordingly. At no time are we going to tailor a review according to the desires of what other people wish. To ask us to do otherwise not only belittles our values and integrity, but it also causes us to reevaluate our purpose towards reviewing. In fact, we would rather refrain from reviewing entirely rather than ever write a review we do not believe in and stand by.

If ever we were to write a review that someone disagrees with, we will of course welcome alternate opinions but ask that said responses are constructive rather than destructive and free from foul language. We will not tolerate slander of any sort, so if you feel the need to lash out, please be advised that such comments will be buried in the liter pan (aka deleted). We are all for the sharing of thoughts and different opinions, but it needs to be done in a professional manner. To viciously attack someone based on their opinion is both childish and unproductive. It doesn’t help us and it certainly doesn’t help you. So please, if you disagree with us on a review, do not proceed to attack us in order to get your point across.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. The felines and I value all of our followers and we hope that you continue to enjoy our blog as much as we enjoy writing it.

Happy readings,

Cameron

Posted on January 15, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I could not agree more. Well said. Anyone that doesn’t agree with this post has more issues than I care to think about.

  2. As a reader, I agree totally with what you are saying. I rely on reviews to help me decide what books (movies, tv shows, etc) to spend my time on, and I value and look for both positive and negative reviews. As long as the reviewer provides an explanation, there are times when a bad review enourages me to actually read a book, if the negative opinion is based on something I don’t agree with. I love to read, but don’t have enough time to read everything I want to, so rely on the reviews of other readers and bloggers to help me narrow down my choices. Honesty should always be supported and encouraged.

  3. Thank you for your support ladies! This has been an extremely raw subject for a lot of folks and while we can easily see both sides of the issue, we felt that giving a clear message on where we stand with things was necessary in order to avoid problems in the future.
    Course we know that there are going to be those who will feel it is necessary to behave unprofessionally, but hopefully most folks will respect our views and keep a lot of the drama at bay. 🐱