Sara’s Review and Contest of Pyxis by K.C. Neal

This is a very special post for me. Murr! Not only do I get to post my review on a great new paranormal young adult novel, but I also get to host my first ever contest! ~tail waves happily~

Now I know that most of you are curious and anxious to get to the contest, but before I go into details about that, I intend to complete some business first. So with that having been said, on to the review! Murr!

***

Pyxis: The Discovery (Pyxis Series #1) by K.C. Neal

Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult

Publisher: Stonehouse Ink

Release Date: November 4th, 2011.

Book Description from Goodreads:

Two worlds… one 16-year-old girl must learn to protect them both.

The nightmares haunting Corinne and her friend Mason hint at a universe that exists beyond the one they know. Her destiny is to protect a weakness between the two worlds, but her mentor is dead. As Corinne and Mason search for answers, she tries to ignore the sparks igniting between them, but can’t deny she feels safe only when he’s nearby. Will they find help before their nightmares break free?

Review:

K.C. Neal does a wonderful job creating a set of characters that are both believable and easy to relate too. Corinne is a typical 16-year-old girl. I enjoyed the fact that while she complained sometimes about everything that was going on in her life, it wasn’t angsty or annoying. I felt a great deal of sympathy for her and shared in her frustration as she tried to find answers to what was happening around her. Likewise Mason was a wonderful counterpoint in that he not only is very responsible and levelheaded for his age, but he has a mischievous side to him as well. He genuinely cares about Corinne and wishes to protect her. My only regret was that I wish I could have seen more of Angeline throughout the story as she seems like a fun character as well.

Besides the characters, Neal keeps the mystery and suspense going nonstop throughout the story. Just when you think Corinne will finally get the answers she is seeking, a new twist occurs which sets her back to square one. I continually found my fur bristling in excitement as the plot built. Was she going to rescue her Great Aunt in Time? Was Harriet Jensen going to get her hands on the Pyxis? And what is up with her creep eyes? So many questions that I wanted answers to. Which is why when I got to the end, I growled in disbelief because Neal ends the book with the perfect cliffhanger.

Yes, that’s right, I said the book ends with a cliffhanger! Not only that, but Neal doesn’t answer all the questions you would hope to have answered. Now, I don’t know about most of you, but I usually hate it when authors end a book with a cliffhanger. However, this one was good! And it sets up the plot for the second book of the series, which I am now anxiously waiting for. So here’s hoping I can get my paws on a copy of the second book of the series, Alight: The Peril, when it becomes available sometime Spring of next year. 🐱

And now, the moment you have all been waiting for. Unless you chose to scroll down the page instead of reading the review that is.

The Contest:

Today I am pleased to announce that K.C. Neal is offering up an eBook copy of her novel to one lucky winner! This contest, which is International, will run starting today, November 13, and end at 11:59 p.m. November 20, 2011 (PDT = Pacific Daylight Time). The winner will be chosen using Random.org. Yay Random!

So you must be wondering what you must do to enter, huh? Well, to enter the contest you must complete the following two requirements:

A: Either answer the contest prompt below or leave a comment/question for either K.C. Neal or any of us felines. 🐱

B: You must include your email address with your comment so that we have a way of contacting the winner.

That’s it. Simple, huh? Murr!  So, now I just wish to say, good luck to all of you who enter!

Contest Prompt:

What would you do if you found out you were destined to protect two worlds, yours and an alternate universe?

And the winner is….Steve!

Congrats Steve! I will be sending out an email to both you and the author and she shall be in touch with you soon. Enjoy the book!

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Book Reviews, Contest. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I would gather the best bad-a$$ team I could to help me Save Both Worlds! Hopefully have more than just humans on the team… (maybe a vampire or two, and a werewolf or three…)

    AND!!

    Question: which one of you is addicted to catnip? Srsly?

  2. samairewynne@yahoo.com
    I need to read directions better. Lost my head when I heard there was a contest with a book as the prize… 🙂

  3. “What would you do if you found out you were destined to protect two worlds, yours and an alternate universe?”

    After fainting dead away (lol), I would put everything I had into protecting both worlds. I’m all about destiny!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    goonie4ever@gmail.com

  4. After I got done having a Meltdown I would gather my friend Samaire and we would rewrite the story line to make sure we win!
    phoenix49@ymail.com

  5. Ha I’d probably try and pass it off onto someone else that is a big responsibility! But seriously I have no clue what I’d do ;0

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    arnoldjaime13@yahoo.com

  6. “What would you do if you found out you were destined to protect two worlds, yours and an alternate universe?”

    Research the alternate universe to find out how it could be protected and why it needed to be protected. See whether there were any methods that could be used to protect both universes at once. Recruit people to help whose skill sets fit the job description of what needed to be done. Then kick some ass.

  7. Thanks so much for the write-up, Sara, and for hosting the giveaway!

    FWIW, I’m reeeeally glad I don’t have to deal with all that awaits Corinne in Alight (Pyxis Series Book 2). 😉 Getting myself up and dressed in the morning is challenge enough most days, hee hee!

  8. I would gather up all the Veterans I could find and ask them to help me save the world!
    Seriously, this book sounds very interesting! I will be looking for a copy to read!
    Thanks!

  9. After the aforementioned meltdown, I would most likely go down to the local library to research how best to deal with my new status as savior of two worlds. One of which I had no idea existed until that very moment. Then likely I would freak out again, try and convince them that this is to big a job for one person to handle and then reluctantly accept the responsibility, since I am guessing there really is no way I would get out of it.

  10. Stand for several minutes shrieking silently and then shake my fist at the sky and yell, Why Me!!!!!

    Then I would go sit under a tree and try to figure out some vaguely logical first step.

  11. My first thought when I read the question was how exciting, so much action! I would want to set up a great team to help me protect both worlds. Thanks for the chance. This book looks great, I have been seeing it everywhere.

    s_walters01@yahoo.com

  12. This contest is now closed! Murr! I will announce the winner using Random.org sometime Monday night PDT. Thank you and good luck to everyone who entered. 🐱

  13. I’d probably say, “What, that again? Damn.”

    Then I’d get a cup of coffee, let it sink down and ask for whatever pointers I get for the job -I already know they just never bother giving you a full set of instructions, they probably get lost in the mail aling with the form that contained the refusal option.

    oh, and I’d get my trenchcoat. It’s a must for dealing with weirdness.

  14. Oops. I accidentally deleted my last line, “Just please don’t ask me to start before noon, please” and my e-mail, wisdom_stone@hotmail.com

    Cheers!