Willow’s Review of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Book Description by Goodreads

A mysterious island.

An abandoned orphanage.

A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Review

Normally I do not review young adult fiction, but after listening to a few folks talk about it, I figured I would read this novel rather than pass it on to Sara. Unfortunately, I’m now thinking that she would have enjoyed this a lot more than I did. It was an okay novel, but it wasn’t great.

I had heard rumors that it was supposed to be “creepy”. Sadly, I wasn’t creeped out. Yes, the monsters that appear in the novel are a bit unusual and for some folks I can understand why they might be considered scary, but for me, when I hear the word creepy, I think, “curl your whiskers and make your fur stand on end.” Unfortunately this didn’t come close, which was rather disappointing. Looking at the front cover of the book, which depicts a girl in 20’s Flapper style clothing floating above the ground, you’d think the book was about ghosts. But it isn’t. Bit misleading if you ask me.

The other problem I had was that I just couldn’t get into the story much. I enjoyed the concept Riggs developed the story around, and I particularly enjoyed the inclusion of photos that are supposed to depict characters and moments in the book, but the overall plot proved to be…Well, the only word I can think of to use is meh. This is a book that is just “okay”. I’m not about to say that I was completely dissatisfied, but if there is a second book, and the ending leads me to believe that there will be, I doubt that I am going to run out and buy it the moment it hits shelves.

So yeah, great story idea, but in the end, I wanted more than I got.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for posting this review. I *believe* our local library has it, so I think I’ll check it out from them and give it a shot! Won’t spend the money unless I find that I really like it. 🙂

    • Yeah, the library route is definitely the way to go on this one. And as I said, it’s not bad, I just didn’t find it all that exciting. I know several readers who really enjoyed the book. Proof that everyone has different tastes. 🐱 I’d be curious what your thoughts are on it once you’ve read it. Feel free to share them when you do. And if you’ve read any of our previous books that we’ve reviewed, you are more than welcomed to share your thoughts as well.