Willow’s Review of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Book Description by Goodreads

“Opens at Nightfall; Closes at Dawn.” The Le Cirque des Rêves is a circus unlike any other, just as this magical debut novel is equally unique. At the center of The Night Circus spectacle are two specially gifted young magicians, Celia and Marco, pitted against each other in professional competition, drawn towards one another in love. Erin Morgenstern’s literary fantasy has already drawn raves for its captivating evocativeness: “A world of almost unbearable beauty…. A love story on a grand scale: it creates, it destroys, it ultimately transcends.” “A novel so magical that there is no escaping its spell… If you choose to read just one novel this year, this is it.”

Review

Best book this feline has read all year! Seriously, I couldn’t put it down nor did I want it to end. Morgenstern could not have written a better debut novel. ~purrs~

This was one of those books that at first I wasn’t sure I wanted to read. But as friends began talking about it and reviews started showing up on websites, my curiosity was raised and I decided to get my paws on a copy. Glad I did, because as I said above, this really was the best book I’ve read this year.

The imagery, tone, plot, characters, and well everything, made for a beautiful story that left this feline wishing such a circus existed. Each tent described was clearly visible in my mind and for all that the only colors used to describe them were black, white, and grey, they all felt real and alive. I’ve never read a book that made me want something to be real so badly.

For those complaining about there being little by way of romance in the novel, my response is that there’s plenty, it’s just subtle. True Marco and Celia dance around their feelings for each other throughout the story, but it keeps in theme with what is going on in their lives. There are some really poignant moments between these two, and by the end, I wanted them both to win and find a way to be together.

I loved how Morgenstern set up the initial basis for the challenge between Marco and Celia. It struck me as being similar to the challenge that was issued in the movie, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, and a bit like Faust. In fact, when I first began reading the book, I thought that was originally where Morgenstern was going to take it, the idea of both God and the Devil playing a game. If that was indeed what she wanted readers to perceive, then she did a wonderful job in the execution of the idea.

Honestly, it’s challenging for me to write this review and not sound like a crazy fan cat. There were so many elements in this book that I loved. I really am making plans to read it again soon. I have a feeling that this will be one of those books where I will discover something new to love with each reading. For me, stories like this one never get old.

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for posting this review, Willow. I keep thinking about this book and have been hesitant about whether or not to buy it, because I still don’t quite *get* what it’s about. Still, with all the positive reviews, and the enticing cover, I think I’m going to have to snag it! ^.^

  1. Pingback: Our Number One Favorite Reads for 2011! « What the Cat Read