Sara’s Review of Evanescence by Alexandra Pelaez

Where to buy this Novella:

Amazon
Smashwords
Goodreads

Book Description from Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Mercedes Strand has never been afraid to help others. The fact that she uses her hacking skills to help abused women make new lives for themselves is proof enough of that. Even after being kidnapped and dumped into a filthy dark slum, she still can’t resist someone in need. But this time her world is turned upside down when the victim is revealed to be a gravely injured vampire by the name of Shadow. An outcast in vampire society, Shadow has endured unspeakable torment at the hands of the elites making him ruthless and suicidal.

In saving his life, Mercedes has made herself a target by thwarting the assassination attempt of an incredibly powerful, sadistic elite vampire. And Shadow has to protect her. His strict code of honor will demand nothing else. But from the very start, Mercedes is captivated by his dark, haunting beauty. And soon Shadow is unable to deny her purity and compassion are awakening emotions he once thought dead…

This is a YA paranormal romance novella of approximately 50,000 words.

Review

First I want to give a tail wave and massive purr to Pelaez for writing to us and asking that we review her book. That takes a certain amount of bravery we felines applaud. Thank you! ~purrs~ Secondly, I wish to say that I’m honored to have been allowed the opportunity to read and review this story. Murr!

So what were my thoughts on it? Well, I liked it! Though it is short novella consisting roughly of 50,000 words, Pelaez has some great ideas and very interesting characters.

I loved her inclusion of Aztec and Indian social structure and how it defined the rank of the vampire characters within the story. It made me pull out a few textbooks and do some background reading because I wanted to learn more about it. Pelaez did some excellent research for her story and it shows.

Mercedes is an interesting young woman. I like the fact that though she is rich, she doesn’t let that define her as a person. Her willingness to help those less fortunate than her is a trait I admired greatly. I will, however, admit to finding it a bit hard to believe that she is only 17 in the story. There were several moments where she sounded more like a grown adult rather than a High School girl. Still, she’s an enjoyable character and a good match for Shadow, who is himself a very complex character and one I would like to learn more about. I found his code of honor to be very reminiscent of the Greeks and Samurai who value the idea of an honorable death above all else.

The only problem that I had with the story was that the ending felt rushed. Pelaez does a fantastic job introducing and building up her characters and the plot, and so I was disappointed when the demise of the antagonist came suddenly and without much fanfare. I’m not saying that the ending doesn’t work, but I just felt that more could have been done with it. I will say though that I really liked the cliffhanger at the very end. That was a brilliant twist that I didn’t see coming and it sets things up nicely for the second book in the series. Murr!

So when all is said and done, I enjoyed the story and am curious about what happens next to Mercedes and Shadow. I also would love to see Pelaez turn this into a full-length novel at some point. 🐱

Posted on October 27, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • Thank you very much for the compliment! The felines and I try our best to be original in what we post. We hope you continue to enjoy our reviews and posts in the months to come. 🐱

  2. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • Truth, I’m not exactly experienced in blogging myself. I only started this blog back in August. Most of what I’ve done up to date has been talking with other bloggers on Twitter, asking questions, and looking at various blogs in order to get ideas. I also snagged a couple of books from my local library that discussed the ins and outs of blogging. My best advice, come up with a “theme” for your blog, something that you enjoy talking/writing about and just start blogging. From what I’ve read/heard, it takes a good solid 6 months to a year for a blog to become well established, and even then there’s no guarantee that you will have a ton of readers by the one year mark. But don’t let this discourage you. Just keep writing. The readers will come in time, and if not, just keep writing for yourself. I didn’t start this blog with the expectations of having hundreds of readers (though if that happens, I’m not about to complain). Blog because you want to, not because someone tells you too. If you enjoy it, keep at it. But if it starts to become just another “thing” to do, if the fun disappears, then don’t be afraid to stop.