Sara’s Review of Legend by Marie Lu

Publication Date: November 29, 2011

Publisher: Putnam Children’s (Penguin Group)

Series: Legend

ARC compliments of Marie Lu during her promotion at San Diego Comic Con International

Description from Goodreads

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Review

Normally I’m not a big fan of dystopian novels, but when my human came back from the San Diego Comic Com with a signed copy of the book, I decided I would give it a try. Boy am I glad I did, murr! I really enjoyed this novel and I’m so happy to be able to review it for both my blog and as part of the Legend Book Tour hosted by Good Choice Read.

From the moment I started reading, I couldn’t put this book down. Told alternately by Day and June, Lu takes readers on a journey rich in action, intrigue, and suspense. Several times I found myself biting my paws in anticipation for what would happen next, and there were a couple of scenes that simply took my breath away.

One such scene was when June witnesses the senseless killing of a group of rioters. The reason I found this scene so powerful was I had read that Lu grew up during the events of Tiananmen Square. In fact, she was living not that far away when it all happened. It influence this event on Lu can easily be seen during this and many other scenes within the novel.

Not only were the scenes exciting, but also the general pacing of the story was great. Even though the book alternates between June and Day’s point of view, Lu does a flawless job transitioning between them. When one character finishes speaking, the other picks up right where the first left off. It really was well done.

Finally, as the first of a series, Lu ends the story with just the right amount of mystery and suspense. This feline can’t wait to find out what happens next! Murr!

Please visit Marie Lu’s website to learn more about the author and her book. Also feel free to read what the Wall Street Journal had to say about Legend.

Book may be purchased via:

Amazon

The Book Depository

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.