Cameron’s Adventures in Book Lists Part Two

In the first half of this discussion, I talked about my first three years of book listing. I not only included the lists generated from 2006-2008, but shared my thoughts on what I felt worked and what didn’t about each list. Basically, those first three years were a means of discovering not only how many books I read on average per year, but whether maintaining a list was even worth it in the long run. Obviously I must have felt it was worth it, else there wouldn’t be this second entry on this topic.

Thus without further ado, I wish to remind readers that you may copy and paste any or all of my lists into a separate document to review titles later if you are so inclined. 🐱

In 2009 I decided that I was mostly happy with the style of book list that I was keeping. I stopped keeping track of anime novels, did away with mentioning what series a book was from and where in the series to find it, and chose to list either the editor or authors who contributed to an anthology rather than create a separate entry/symbol for each book. This made, in my opinion, for an overall easy to comprehend list.

However, there was one thing that the list didn’t explain. Sure it showed how many books I read per year, but because the number fluctuated, there wasn’t an explanation for why some years I appeared to read more and in others I read less. So it was in thanks to a suggestion by a friend of mine that I decided to include the total number of pages for each book next to the entry. As a result, the book list took on the following appearance.

 

2009 Book List:

1. Death Masks – Dresden Files Book 5 by Jim Butcher (374 pages)
2. The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling (111 pages)
3. Scoundrel in Disguise by Annette Blair (286 pages)
4. Full Moon Rising by Keri Arthur (291 pages)
5. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (332 pages)
6. Frostbite by Richelle Mead (327 pages)
7. Marked by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast (306 pages)
8. Betrayed by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast (310 pages)
9. Chosen by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast (307 pages)
10. Untamed by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast (338 pages)
11. Hunted by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast (323 pages)
12. Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs (287 pages)
13. Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead (444 pages)
14. Evernight by Claudia Gray (327 pages)
15. Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs (309 pages)
16. Urban Shaman by C.E. Murphy (344 pages)
17. Magic or Maddess by Justine Larbalestier (304 pages)
18. The Red Heart of Jade by Marjorie M. Liu (369 pages)
19. Docketful of Poesy by Diana Killian (244 pages)
20. Undead and Unworthy by MaryJanice Davidson (285 pages)
21. Lord of Misrule: The Morganville Vampires – Book Five by Rachel Caine (231 pages)
22. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (292 pages)
23. Hatter M – The Looking Glass Wars Vol.1 by Frank Beddor (171 pages)
24. Dark Obsession by Allison Chase (350 pages)
25. Undead and Unwelcome by MaryJanice Davidson (282 pages)
26. Eye of Heaven by Marjorie M. Liu (356 pages)
27. Don’t Die Dragonfly by Linda Joy Singleton (269 pages)
28. Demons are a Ghoul’s Best Friend by Victoria Laurie (282 pages)
29. Ghouls Just Haunt to Have Fun by Victoria Laurie (310 pages)
30. The Vampire Diaries Books 1&2 by L.J. Smith (492 pages)
31. Last Dance by Linda Joy Singleton (242 pages)
32. Witch Ball by Linda Joy Singleton (247 pages)
33. Sword Play by Linda Joy Singleton (280 pages)
34. Fatal Charm by Linda Joy Singleton (372 pages)
35. Howling at the Moon by Karen MacInerney (360 pages)
36. Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz (302 pages)
37. Masquerade by Melissa De La Cruz (305 pages)
38. Revelations by Melissa De La Cruz (264 pages)
39. Blood Promise by Richelle Mead (503 pages)
40. A Touch of Dead by Charlaine Harris (192 pages)

 

Now sadly, though 2009 introduced a different format to the book list, it also reflected how miserable a reading year I had. My mind wasn’t on reading and, though there were a ton of wonderful books released that year and I had a huge pile of TBR’s, I honestly couldn’t dredge up the energy to get excited. Thus I learned that while keeping a list helped you track of what you read, it also reflected how much effort you put into it as well.

I should also mention that this was the year that a close personal friend of mine decided to also keep track of the number of books she read on a yearly basis. It was fun comparing her list to mine. Not only did she read more than I did (she averages about 125+ per year), but her list introduced me to a ton of new titles and authors that I had never heard of. Course, it also showed similar tastes in genres and had some duplicate entries. Actually, this is the friend who is responsible for the heavy amount of Paranormal Romance in my lists.

Anyways, at the start of 2010, I made a resolution to myself that not only would I make sure I read at least a half hour a day, but I would also add up the total number of pages read at the end of the year. In a way, this brought me full circle to why I was doing this to begin with. The other advantage I had going into this year was that I joined a book group on Shelfari.com who encouraged me to keep reading even during my off days. Their motivational pep talks helped immensely.

 

2010 Book List:

1. Storm of Visions by Christina Dodd (377 pages)

2. Storm of Shadows by Christina Dodd (374 pages)

3. Scent of Darkness by Christina Dodd (416 pages)

4. Ravenous by Sharon Ashwood (334 pages)

5. Date Me Baby, One More Time by Stephanie Rowe (300 pages)

6. Weregirls: Birth of the Pack by Petru Popescu (347 pages)

7. Must Love Dragons by Stephanie Rowe (342 pages)

8. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Jane Austen and Ben H. Winters (340 pages)

9. The Van Alen Legacy by Melissa De la Cruz (369 pages)

10. Blood From Stone by Laura Anne Gilman (340 pages)

11. He Loves Me, He Loves Me Hot by Stephanie Rowe (332 pages)

12. Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs (342 pages)

13. Twilight: The Graphic Novel by Stephenie Meyer and Young Kim (224 pages)

14. Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce (240 pages)

15. In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce (288 pages)

16. The Woman Who Rides Like a Man by Tamora Pierce (304 pages)

17. Lioness Rampant by Tamora Pierce (400 pages)

18. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Gramhame-Smith (320 pages)

19. Bloodring by Faith Hunter (336 pages)

20. Seraphs by Faith Hunter (321 pages)

21. Thunderbird Falls by C.E. Murphy (408 pages)

22. Elphame’s Choice by P.C. Cast (426 pages)

23. Host by Faith Hunter (310 pages)

24. Stray by Rachel Vincent (618 pages)

25. Kitty and The Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn (259 pages)

26. Coyote Dreams by C.E. Murphy (408 pages)

27. Walking Dead by C.E. Murphy (376 pages)

28. Rogue by Rachel Vincent (394 pages)

29. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (332 pages)

30. Frostbite by Richelle Mead (327 pages)

31. Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead (443 pages)

32. Nightlight by The Harvard Lampoon (160 pages)

33. Kissing Sin by Keri Arthur (355 pages)

34. The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox (292 pages)

35. The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer (192 pages)

36. Hex Marks the Spot by Madelyn Alt (246 pages)

37. No Rest for the Wiccan by Madelyn Alt (295 pages)

38. Bored of the Rings by The Harvard Lampoon (176 pages)

39. Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuirre (346 pages)

40. Where There’s a Witch by Madelyn Alt (290 pages)

41. On the Prowl by Karen MacInerney (366 pages)

42. Pride Mates by Jennifer Ashley (304 pages)

43. Any Given Doomsday by Lori Handeland (333 pages)

44. Undead and Unfinished by MaryJanice Davidson (320 pages)

45. Keys to the Repository by Melissa De La Cruz (227 pages)

46. A Local Habitation by Seanan McGuire (377 pages)

47. A Witch in Time by Madelyn Alt (290 pages)

48. Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews (260 pages)

49. Lucan by Susan Kearney (368 pages)

50. Sleeping With the Fishes by MaryJanice Davidson (268 pages)

51. Swimming Without a Net by MaryJanice Davidson (271 pages)

52. Fish Out of Water by MaryJanice Davidson (270 pages)

53. Leader of the Pack by Karen MacInerney (339 pages)

54. Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton (266 pages)

55. Wicked Game by Jeri Smith-Ready (392 pages)

56. Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken (336 pages)

57. Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews (260 pages)

58. Bad Blood by L.A. Banks (330 pages)

59. Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews (310 pages)

60. Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews (349 pages)

61. Bad to the Bone by Jeri Smith-Ready (356 pages)

62. The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance edited by Trisha Telep (512 pages)

63. Curse the Dawn by Karen Chance (400 pages)

64. No Plot? No Problem by Chris Baty (176 pages)

65. The Laughing Corpse by Laurell K. Hamilton (308 pages)

66. About a Dragon by G.A. Aikens (375 pages)

67. An Artificial Night by Seanan McGuire (368 pages)

68. Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton (329 pages)

69. Bring on the Night by Jeri Smith-Ready (416 pages)

70. What a Dragon Should Know by G.A. Aikens (384 pages)

Total number of pages read: 23,159!

 

Yes, 2010 was a good year and looking back at previous lists I have come to realize that even on my worst year, I still read a lot more than most of my friends do (and there are some who say I read too much). Still, for someone who sets out each year to try and read 100 books before January 1, it does sometimes sadden me that I have never once made it into the high 80’s or even the 90’s.

So where does all this leave me for 2011? Well, while I won’t give you the list of books read so far, I will say that the list pretty much runs in style to last years with the notable exception that this time around I decided to break the list into months instead of one long list. I also kept the page totals and added them per month with the idea being that I will take those numbers and provide a total number read for the year at the end.

Yes, after five years I’ve finally found a format of book listing that I like. And I will readily admit that this way may not work for everyone. As always your mileage may vary. But to those of you who are on the fence about whether to keep track of your books or not, I hope that my experience might help you find a system that works and is comfortable to you.

I’ll post the official reading list for 2011 after Janurary 1, 2012. Until that time, here’s hoping your reading year is full of adventure and that everyone of you meets your goal, whatever that may be!

Posted on August 18, 2011, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It is somehow great when you read a publication that is not only informative but entertaining. I must bookmark Cameron’s Adventures in Book Lists Part Two What the Cat Read. I have been seeking for ideas about this subject matter for days and yours is the best I have located. I really liked your blog post.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words and for reading the post. When I began keeping my book list, I was surprised to find that many of my friends, who are themselves heavy readers, didn’t keep lists. It got me wondering what they did when they picked up a book that they were unsure whether they had read before or not. Nothing is worse than re-reading a book you read earlier in the year…unless you specifically choose to re-read it that is. Let me know if you have any questions about book list keeping and I’ll try to answer them. Happy reading!

  2. After reading Cameron’s Adventures in Book Lists Part Two What the Cat Read I decided to leave a nice note for author. Keep up the good work, I hope to read soon similar blog posts. Also your web site loads up fast!

    • Thanks for visiting and reading the blog. And thanks also for letting me know about how quickly the site loads up. This reinforces my desire to keep things like flash based media and other fancy graphics to a minimum on the site. At least for the time being. Tail waves and purrs to you from the felines!