What Are We Reviewing in August?

Greetings everyone,

Welcome to What the Cat Read, the Blog where three cats express their views on the books they have read or plan to read, share their opinions on books made into films, and discuss the authors that they know and love.

Because the site is still in it’s developmental stage, and since the cats are currently busy reading, today’s blog is to simply let folks know what will be coming up in the month of August. With that said, let’s see what the felines have to say.

Murr! Sara here checking in and letting you all know that I’ve got some great books standing by, just waiting to be read! Thanks to my human, who attended San Diego Comic Con, and the wonderful publishing houses who also attended, I shall be reviewing the following ARCs:

Shadow Kin by M. J. Scott – published by Roc and slated to be released September 2011.

Legend by Marie Lu – published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons and slated to be released November 2011 (I should also note that my human got to meet the wonderful Marie Lu while she was signing at Comic Con and that this book is soon to be a Major Motion Picture!)

Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts – published by Simon & Schuster and slated to be released November 2011

Wolf Springs Chronicles: Unleashed by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguie – published by Delacorte Press (Nancy Holder is a local San Diegan author)

So that does it for me at this time. I will now turn the blog over to Willow and let her tell you what she is up too. Murr!

Hello everyone. Bet you all are wondering what it is that I will be reading this month. Well, sad to say it won’t be as exciting as what Sara is going to be doing, but I still find it important. My human and I found out that one of our much loved mystery authors, Lilian Jackson Braun, passed away in June and as a result we both got to talking and it was decided that we would reread the entire Cat Who series. Yep, that’s right, the entire series! Since July 1st, I’ve been diligently reading each book and rediscovering the series all over again. It’s been a great adventure! It’s also been keeping me out of mischief, which my human approves of immensely. So with a bit of luck, I should have the series done some time towards the end of August, whereupon I will dedicate my blog to the wonderful Mrs. Braun and share my views with all of you. Should be a fun entry. I recommend that you not miss it.

This is Little Bug reporting. It’s been too hot for this cat to do much reading. Plus with the two youngsters all hyped up about their books, I’ve decided to sit this month out for the time being and cogitate what I would like to read for September. Perhaps I will revisit Jane Austen or maybe curl up with a book by Alexander Dumas since the new Three Musketeers movie is due to come out sometime in October. Until then, I’m going back to my nice cool bed and taking a nap.

Well folks, there you have it. The plans have been set, the reading has begun, and each feline is looking forward to sharing their books with you in the months to come. Oh, and to answer the question of what I will be doing during the month of August, well I think that would be pretty obvious. I will be reading what the cats read, because I don’t think they should be the only ones who get to enjoy themselves!

Until the next entry, this is Cameron signing off.

P. S. Willow, Sara, and Little Bug will gladly accept recommendations from folks. So if you’ve got a book that you wish to share, or a movie tie-in that might be interesting, feel free to leave a comment below. Thanks, and happy reading to each of you!

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Updates. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Bravo! The blog is up. Remember we little people when the kibbles start coming in! Rex and Winston say “Huh?”

  2. can’t wait to read your reviews and thoughts on books!

    ~Sherry

    Sherry Soule Website

    Author of the Spellbound Series

  3. I printed a lot of your blog out thanks my friend