Sara’s Review of Flight by Alyssa Rose Ivy

I’d like to thank AToMR Book Blog Tours for letting me participate in this event! For a full list of the blogs involved, and to enter the giveaways associated with this tour, please visit HERE. =^.^=

***

Rating:

Date of Publication: August 16, 2012

Series: The Crescent Chronicles

Goodreads Description:

Sometimes you just have to take flight.

A summer in New Orleans is exactly what Allie needs before starting college. Accepting her dad’s invitation to work at his hotel offers an escape from her ex-boyfriend and the chance to spend the summer with her best friend. Meeting a guy is the last thing on her mind—until she sees Levi.

Unable to resist the infuriating yet alluring Levi, Allie finds herself at the center of a supernatural society and forced to decide between following the path she has always trusted or saving a city that might just save her.

Review:

I’ve read some books that have left me wanting to find out what happens next, but this is the first time I’ve ever read a book where I found myself wondering if the ending was really the end (at least until the second book)!

Yes, this feline is currently writing this while trying to figure out what exactly just happened. I think I was just blindsided with the mother of all cliffhangers! Not that this is a bad thing, especially seeing as I was really into the book, but it did jar me out of an intense reading groove. I really didn’t want this book to end. I think it is safe to say that Alyssa has roped me into the world she has created and I must admit that I want more now, murr!

I loved the characters in this book. Allie is definitely a character I can get into. She’s not afraid to speak her mind, knows exactly what she wants (even though she does give into the desire of her parents on a few things, and just has the type of personality that I enjoy. Hailey is a total sweetheart and I only wish that she was around more. And yes, I even liked Levi, though it did take me a while to warm up to him. At the moment I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with him. To some degree I think he’s the perfect match for Allie, but there are some aspects of her personality that just do not sit well with me. Alright, I’ll be honest, I found him to be infuriating! He comes across as a total jerk, and I’m not saying this lightly. And yet for all that, I couldn’t help but find myself drawn to him. I’m definitely curious to see how he changes in the second book.

Plot wise, this is not your typical paranormal novel. The synopsis really doesn’t do it justice. And as much as I would like to go into detail with you about what really happens in this book, I’m afraid you are just going to have to settle for me saying that the supernatural society is unlike one I’ve ever read about. Yeah I know, I’m not being much help, huh? Well, I guess you are just going to have to get a copy of the book to find out what it is I’m talking about. =^.^=

There were just two things that kept me from completely falling in love with this book. The first was the overabundance of male assertiveness and disregard for Allie’s thoughts and feelings. I get why Alyssa took the book in the direction she did, but that understanding doesn’t change the fact that I found myself getting seriously ticked off at half the guys while reading. And I did get upset, a lot. Especially with Levi. Like I said, he is a total jerk! I actually shouted, “No, means no you (insert swear word of your choice here)” a few times. Now honestly, a little assertiveness every once in a while is fine, but when it’s used to define a character I often find myself being turned off. And to make it worse, when Allie calls him on his actions, he hardly even apologizes, and when he does, it’s obvious he doesn’t really get it. I’m all for bad boys, but I don’t like it when a guy comes off as being a jerk.

The second issue I had, I already mentioned at the start of this review. If I do indeed have a full copy of the book, and my copy isn’t missing anything, then the ending of this book is a WTF?! The book just ends. There’s no gradual ease into a conclusion, no sense that things are reaching an end. It just stops. Dead. I’ve never come across a cliffhanger like this one before, if indeed that is what this was. I literally feel like I’m missing part of this book.

So with that being said, I highly recommend this story to anyone who enjoys YA paranormal reads. And while the rating system isn’t designed to do half paws, I find myself having to give this book four paws and a tail wave of approval. This is a fun, fast paced read, and it’s definitely the start to a get new series.

About the Author:

Alyssa Rose Ivy is a Young Adult and New Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.

You can find her by visiting her Website, Facebook, Twitter, or Goodreads.


Posted on September 10, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing Flight! I am so glad you enjoyed it. By the way, Hailey has an even bigger role in book two, Focus. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 900 other followers