Our Favorite Authors – Sarwat Chadda

Our goal with “Our Favorite Authors” is to help our followers find new authors whom they might never have tried before and also thank those authors whom have touched our lives over the years. And since there is no shortage in authors whom we love, we are positive this monthly post will be a success! =^-^=

Sarwat Chadda has lived and travelled throughout the world, from China to Guatemala. He’s been lost in Mongolia, abandoned at a volcano in Nicaragua and hidden up a tree from a rhino in Nepal. Not to mention being detained by Homeland Security in the US and chased around Tibet by the Chinese police. Maybe he just has that sort of face.Anyway, now he’s trying to settle in one place and stay out of trouble. Hence his new career as a writer. It’s safe, indoors and avoids any form of physical danger.

Throughout his travels, Sarwat has soaked up the myths, legends and cultures of far away places. Now, with the Ash Mistry series, he aims to bring these unfamiliar tales of ten-headed demons and blue-skinned heroes back home and put them beside the exploits of Achilles and Thor. His heroes are Prince Rama and the demon-slaying Kali. Isn’t it about time you met them too?

My first introduction to Chadda was through my local library. I happened to see the cover of Dark Goddess, the second book in his Devil’s Kiss series, sitting on the “Just Released” shelf and found myself drawn to it. After reading the cover blurb, I immediately checked out the first book of the series and fell in love with it! Being a fan of anything related to the Knights Templar, this series was a perfect find. I don’t want to say too much because Sara’s got plans on reviewing the series on here at some point, so I don’t want to give away any spoilers, b will say that I rather hope Chadda picks this series up again at some point. I’d love to see more of Billi and crew!

So after discovering Chadda’s books, I began to converse with him from time to time on Twitter. And for the record, he’s a wonderful author to talk with! One of the best discussions I had with him involved the book Dune by Frank Herbert. At the time I had never read the book, and when I’d admitted as much, Chadda challenged me to read it and write a guest review for his blog. Course I had to take this challenge, if for no other reason than because I wanted to find out why Chadda admired the book so much. Now while I can’t say that I enjoy the book, it was an interesting read. And the movie was quite the experience as well. I have to admit that this was by far the most fun I’ve ever had interacting with an author. =^.^=

And now I’d like to share with you Chadda’s newest books and stories to hit shelves. One of the books I was lucky enough to get an ARC of and plan to review closer to publication, the other I had the honor and privilege to help in the publication process. Both are titles that I highly recommend to readers who loved his Devil’s Kiss series!

Coming up in October, Chadda will be releasing a brand new series which kind of crosses over with his previous one as I learned while reading his blog recently. The book, The Savage Fortress (US title), will go on sale October 1, 2012.

Also coming out in October is Two and Twenty Dark Tales: Dark Retellings of Mother Goose Rhymes, a charity anthology book in which Chadda has a short story that evolves around the rhyme Four and Twenty Black Birds. Trust me when I say, you will want to check this collection of stories out!

To learn more about Sarwat Chadda, you can visit him via his Website, Twitter, and Facebook.

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 900 other followers