Sara’s Review of Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan

I’d like to thank the folks over at A Tale of Many Reviews Book Blog Tours for letting me participate in this tour! For a full list of all the blogs involved, and for an opportunity to enter the giveaway associated in this event, please visit HERE! Also, during the run of the tour, you can purchase this copy for $0.99 on Amazon! See the purchase links below for more details!

Rating: 

Publisher: Sweetwater Books

Date Published: February 8, 2012

Series: Fractured Light

Goodreads Description:

Llona Reese is used to living on the run. After the Vykens killed her parents, she knew they would eventually come for her too. But she never felt ready to face them—until now. Defying the Auran Council and everything she’s been taught, Llona must learn to use her power over light as a weapon if she wants to survive.

Review:

I truly enjoyed this novel. As a debut, McClellan has done a wonderful job creating a world with memorable characters and an intriguing, suspenseful storyline.

Llona was one of those characters that took me a little while to get use to because she was so closed off in the beginning. True, given what happened to her parents, I couldn’t really blame her that much, but I did question her desire to keep everyone at bay most of her life the longer it went on. However, once she started opening up, I found that I loved her. She’s strong, determined, and not afraid to fight for herself. There’s no doubt that my respect for her grew as the story progressed. Christian was a surprise only because I initially suspected him to be the bad guy. I’m very pleased to say that I was wrong in this assumption. And honestly, the only reason I was suspicious of him initially was because of his behavior at the start of the book. Course, once it was made clear why he acted the way he did, I then found myself getting annoyed with him, but again that’s because of his behavior once the truth came out. No don’t get me wrong, I liked Christian, but I really do hate folks who deny their feelings simply because the group you are a part of considers them to be taboo. I’m sorry, but if you like someone, you like them. Get over it, admit it, and be happy with that person. Grr…and I just realized that I am going off on a tangent that could easily turn into a rant. Sorry about that, murr!

So where was I? Oh yeah, the storyline itself. I enjoyed it! Alright, I’ll go into a bit more detail here. I found McClellan’s book to be intriguing, and there’s no question that there were a number of scenes which had me holding my breath in anticipation of what was going to happen.

There are a few familiar paranormals in the book. The Vykens are reminiscent of vampires, and May’s abilities remind me of a pyrokinetic user. But the Aura’s were relatively unique to me. The idea of being able to manipulate light to both enhance one’s own abilities, as well as help others was interesting. I don’t want to say that it reminds me entirely of modern-day witches who gather to worship during the full of the moon, but I couldn’t help but think of it at times because there wasn’t much I could compare the idea with. To me it really was unique, and that made a huge difference in my enjoyment of the story.

Also, McClellan does a fantastic job at keeping the reader in suspense! Just when I thought I knew who the bad guy was, something would happen which made me doubt my original guess. Of course, my first guess was correct, but it was fun to watch various characters step up and become suspects, if even for only a short while. The various warnings that Lloan received, followed by the mysterious shadow constantly creeping by her bedroom window and the small surprises that were left for her at times, seriously made my fur bristle. I wasn’t fully creeped out by this book per say, but I did flinch a few times whenever something unexpected flew by my window roost as I was reading. Yes, even this feline will jump at shadows sometimes, murr! Especially stalker like shadows. Those really put me on edge.

So overall, this was well worth the read and I’m really looking forward to the sequel. =^.^=

***

About the Author:

My YA urban fantasy novel FRACTURED LIGHT was just released. The sequel is tentatively planned for release in February 2013.

I’ve been drunk on writing ever since I traveled to Ireland and became blessed (or cursed) by a Leprechaun with a french accent and a bad attitude. Of course I did just steal his gold, but that’s another story.

I currently live in Maine and find the place terribly and hauntingly romantic. Love the forests and graveyards.

Social Media links: Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Website

Links to find/buy book:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12812539-fractured-light

http://www.amazon.com/Fractured-Light-Rachel-McClellan/dp/1599559420

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fractured-light-rachel-mcclellan/1105707326

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 899 other followers