First Grave on the Right Read-along – Week 3

Willow here with another installment of questions for the month-long read-along of First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones! If you are interested in following along and/or participating in the event, here’s the schedule for the month.

1st Wk – 8/2 Love of Books ~ Ch 1-5
2nd Wk – 8/9  Babbling About Books and Stuff ~ Ch 6-10
3rd Wk – 8/16  In the Closet With a Bibliophile ~ Ch 11- 15
4th Wk – 8/23  Rainy Day Ramblings ~ Ch 16-21
5th Wk – 8/30 Darynda Jones Q&A + winners announcement

***

1. I do have a soft spot for Charley’s Aunt Lilian. She is sweet and soft while somehow also being a little dirty and I find that hilarious in an aunt. Do you have any relatives dead or alive that remind you of Aunt Lillian? If not, tell me about your favorite deceased relative.

Uh…this is actually the first time I’ve come across a question I have no answer for. Even my human can’t think of a response. O.o  So, rather than a relative, would you settle for a neighbor? When my human and I use to live in an apartment complex, we had an elderly neighbor next door who was a lot like Aunt Lillian. She’d always pop by with some sort of baked goods for my human, and occasionally she’d have a treat or two for me as well. She had the most wonderful stories to share with us, loved to laugh, and was fun to be around. It was a sad day when her family moved her out and into a senior care home. ~sniff sniff~ 

2.  In these chapters, we get a little closer to Reyes and his secrets. Neil, the warden at the prison where Reyes is currently incarcerated – and a high school mate of Charley’s – tells a story about how Reyes ended up in the Coma and something he witnessed. What do you think of the story? What does this lead you to think about Reyes?

 Reyes strikes me as the type of guy who readily protects the weak, or at least stands up for those who are outnumbered. Neil’s story only helps confirm my opinion. I do find his super speed to be fascinating, if not just a bit eery.

3.  One of the things I love most about Ubie and Charley’s relationship is that Ubie aka Uncle Bob has absolute faith in our Charley. Maybe it’s because Charley’s been solving murder cases for ages and Ubie knows that Charley knows things. If you could pick a super power, which one would you choose? Seeing the dead? Invisibility?

 Let’s see, I am already blessed with the gift of seeing the dead, I can orb from one place to another without you realizing (if you have felines you have probably experienced them doing this), and I can make myself invisible when I want to. So if I had to pick a different super power, I’d have to go with being able to open cans of cat chow without the aid of my human!

4.  Okay, in my opinion, there is nothing better than walking into your living room and seeing the god-like creature of your dreams standing there waiting for you. If you were in Charley’s shoes, who would be standing in your living room??

My human would go with one of her top five Hollywood actors here, but I’d have to go with Curran from Ilona Andrews’ novels. Meow!

5.  We get a surprise visit from Rosie’s husband and we find out some information about Reyes…that he and The Big Bad are the same guy. What are your thoughts? Were you surprised about Rosie’s husband or did you feel that one coming? What about Bad Reyes, had you already made the connection?

It doesn’t surprise me that The Big Bad and Reyes are one and the same…makes sense actually. I already had suspected that there was a link between the two, so it was nice to have it confirmed for me. Rosie’s husband was a bit surprising but not unexpected. It’s what we learn towards the end of the book that left me in shock and deeply saddened.

Posted on August 16, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. HAHA I just love your answers! My Simba would agree that he would love to be able to open friskies cans by himself. He already helps himself to chicken off the table. He swipes it quick. Your old neighbor sounds great. Awesome that she brought both you and your human treats. Reyes does seem to protect the weak. I’ve heard great things about Curran but haven’t had the chance to read the series myself yet.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 868 other followers