First Grave on the Right Read-along – Week 2

Willow here with another installment of questions for the month-long read-along of First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones! If you are interested in following along and/or participating in the event, here’s the schedule for the month.

1st Wk – 8/2 Love of Books ~ Ch 1-5
2nd Wk – 8/9  Babbling About Books and Stuff ~ Ch 6-10
3rd Wk – 8/16  In the Closet With a Bibliophile ~ Ch 11- 15
4th Wk – 8/23  Rainy Day Ramblings ~ Ch 16-21
5th Wk – 8/30 Darynda Jones Q&A + winners announcement

***

1 – Shiny objects and old family stories are told in this chapter, including an old nickname for our dear Charley. What was the nickname her uncle Bob gave her when she was little? Do you have an old nickname from when you were a kid? You can share it, and if it’s really embarrassing we won’t mind. *wink*

Charley’s nickname was Calamity, as in Calamity Jane. And given what we’ve learned about her so far, I think the name is appropriate. =^.^=

As for a nickname of my own, I mentioned last week that my human called me her Cross-eyed Demon Child. Well, that’s a nickname which I’ve found hard to live down. Course, given that I am just as much a trouble maker now as I was when I was a kitten, I can understand why she still calls me this.

2 – In this chapter we met someone. A really special guy named Rocket. Now, my memory is not what it used to be, and I just can’t remember what makes him so special. Can you tell me what makes this particular ghost unique among all the others? And how about you? What can you do that makes you special? Anything? Jump on one foot for a really long time counts. *giggle*

Rocket knows all the names and dates of those who died and he records them on the walls of the asylum where he lives. It’s mentioned in this chapter that Charley thinks he could have been a reaper, had his life not taken the turn that it did.

So, what makes me special? Um, I’m a feline blogger. Does that count? Okay seriously, I don’t really think I’m all that special, though my human feels otherwise. And speaking of my human, I’d have to say that she’s the special one in the house. I mean, she puts up with all the trouble I cause her. Plus she’s the one that encouraged my fellow felines and myself to create this blog. If it wasn’t for her, we’d not be doing this!

3 – Charley is really *cough* not your ordinary girl. She does something that, well, there’s no way around it. She named parts of her body and the names are… oh crap, I forgot. Just my luck. *sigh* But I’m sure you guys can say what part of her body she named and what the names were. And, since we are on the matter, have you ever named a part of your body? If so, what was it and what was the name? Come on, don’t be shy. *wink+crooked smile*

I will never understand you humans need to name parts of your body. But to answer the question, Charley names her breasts Danger and Will Robinson. She also named her ovaries, but I won’t tell you what she called them because you didn’t ask. ~smirks~

Have I ever named a part of my body? Nope. Never  have, never will. I’ll leave that to you humans. 

4 – We all have our little secrets. Things we don’t tell anyone, not even our bff. Char (we became close :P ) is no different, but in this chapter she shared her little (big) secret (S) with her bff. What did you think about her reaction? What would be yours?

I applaud Cookie’s reaction and I got a bit of a chuckle out of her fascination as Charley was telling her about it all.

My own reaction would be similar to Cookie’s to be honest. Like I said last week, all felines have a connection with the spirit world, so it wouldn’t be surprising to me if someone said they were the Grim Reaper and had a life similar to Charley’s.

5 – In this chapter, Char continues her heart-to-heart with her BFF and comes up with some theories about our fave badboy/possibly ghost. What do you think of it? Can it be? What do you think about him? Hot? Double chocolate hot? Super duper caramel chocolate cake with a cherry on top hot?

Because I finished the book fairly recently, ~coughs~last night while my humans slept~coughs~, I don’t really think I can answer this question without giving anything away. I will say however that Reyes is definitely “super duper caramel chocolate cake with a cherry on top hot” as you so put it. ~purrs~ I’ve definitely got to get the next book of the series and give it a read through!

Posted on August 9, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Let’s just say I don’t believe it about the naming parts. I mean you cats have better access to parts… ;)

    Oh and Reyes… *purr* indeed!

  2. Well, I am glad you were burning the midnight oil reading this one. You had better hurry there are two more books to read before book four releases in October. A feline blogger well that takes talent. Again so fun. love your little blog. Thanks for being a part of the read along. I am guessing it helped turn you into a new Darynda Jones fan!

    • Definitely! I love the humor in this book and I like the fact that it also reads as a bit of a mystery novel. And no worries about me needing to catch up on the remainder of the series, I’ll be reading a book a month just for fun. Any chance you’ll continue this read-along with the other books?

  3. Being a feline blogger takes a lot of talent…it’s got to be hard to type with paws! You definitely need to read the next book in the series and cuddle up to Reyes every chance you get!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 899 other followers