Buggy’s Review of Ashes and Wine by Taryn Elliot

My thanks to Jaime at Entangled Publishing for allowing me to review this book as part of the Ashes and Wine tour. Be sure to check out the Guest Interview with Taryn Elliot and enter the giveaway for an e-book copy of her novel!

***

Rating: 

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Imprint: Ever After

Date Published: June 28th 2012

Goodreads Description:

Before Tessa met Royal Andreas, her bookstore was on the verge of sinking. And before Tessa met Royal Andreas, she didn’t mind being single. But Royal brings in business with monthly wine tastings featuring his family’s signature vintages–and brings Tessa’s heart to a standstill with intense gray eyes that look on her with nothing but cool indifference.

Yet one searing kiss between the stacks gives Tessa a glimpse of the passion smoldering beneath–and a secret pain further revealed when Royal fills in as the musician at a tasting event. Every note of Spanish guitar tells a story of family tragedy, loss, and ongoing suffering that’s made Royal afraid to lean on anyone…even if he needs Tessa’s sweet flavor more than the richest wine. Only her strength can save him when his world crumbles to ashes. But has Royal learned trust too late to claim Tessa as his own?

Review:

Beautiful and emotional story! I really enjoyed it, only I wish it were longer. Elliot’s book will pull at your heartstrings and also set your blood on fire. This romance is definitely steamy. =^.^=

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I love a good romance story, and this was definitely a good romance. There’s no question of the chemistry between Royal and Tessa. The scenes where they get together made my whiskers burn, and I loved the fact that the sex scenes were not over the top like in some other books. Elliot did a wonderful job giving each scene just enough heat without going overboard. Right from the start I wanted Royal and Tessa to end up together and it pained me when Royal pushed her away because of what was going on in his life. Don’t get me wrong, I know exactly how it feels to lose someone close to you, and I know full well everyone goes through the experience differently, but I honestly wanted to cuff Royal upside the head a few times while reading. But at the same time, I couldn’t help but get teary eyed a lot too.

Yes, this book got to me and I’m not joking when I say it is an emotional story. This is a book that requires a box of tissues and your favorite comfort snack nearby. And if you read it all in one sitting, you might want to follow it up with a few funny videos. If you want to know what happened in the book that got me so worked up, get a copy for yourself and give it a read through. You won’t get any further spoilers from me.

There was only one thing which kept me from completely enjoying this book: it was too short. I honestly wanted more. More time spent watching Royal and Tessa’s relationship grow, more interaction with the five brothers, more insight into what was going on with Simon, etc. As a novella, this is a fantastic teaser, but I really feel it should be turned into a full length novel. Especially since the ending sort of leaves you hanging as to what happens next for everyone.

That having been said, here’s hoping that Elliot revisits the Andreas family in the future and gives everyone a chance to have their stories told! And here’s to more Royal and Tessa in the future.

Author Bio:

I’m from the great state of New York–upstate NY, thank you very much. My family consists of a brother who takes care of keeping the snarky side of me alive and a dog that is more spoiled child than mutt. My writer-friends are the glue that keeps my crazy ideas more in the sane category, and my non-writerly friends are the reason I’m not a complete hermit. I can’t go a day without laughing and I truly do fall in love with each and every one of my leading men as I write their book. Music is life and every story has its own soundtrack.

I’m shamelessly addicted to the internet and adore hearing from readers.

Where to find Taryn Elliot: Goodreads, Twitter, Website

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for such an awesome review. Ahhh, you know my dirty little secret. I almost always write longer. LOL This was my first short story. My first book is double this wordcount. *blush*

    I’m glad you enjoyed my boys. I do love them so. I hope I get to revisit them.

    • This was actually a rather hard book for me personally to get through. I lost my mother to cancer when I was 18, and some of the scenes in the book mirrored what I went through a bit too closely. But still, I did enjoy the read and the brothers are a total trip! :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 903 other followers