Willow’s Review of Darklands by Nancy Holzner

My thanks go out to Bewitching Book Tours for allowing me to participate in this tour event! =^.^=  To see a full list of blogs involved, and to enter for your chance to win a signed copy of one of Nancy Holzner’s books, please visit HERE!

Rating:

Series: Deadtown

Publisher: Ace

Date of Publication: July 31, 2012

Goodreads Description:

They call it Deadtown: the city’s quarantined section for its inhuman and undead residents. Most humans stay far from its border—but Victory Vaughn, Boston’s only professional demon slayer, isn’t exactly human…

Boston’s demons have been disappearing, and Vicky’s clients are canceling left and right. While fewer demons might seem like a good thing, Vicky suspects foul play. A missing Celtic cauldron from Harvard’s Peabody museum leads her to an unwelcome conclusion: Pryce, her demi-demon cousin and bitter enemy, is trying to regain his full powers.

But Pryce isn’t alone. He’s conjured another, darker villain from Vicky’s past. To stop them from destroying everything she loves, she’ll have to face her own worst fear—in the realm of the dead itself.

Where to Purchase: Mysterious Galaxy, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, Powells

Review:

I’ve always enjoyed Holzner’s books, so it was no surprise to me that I would like this one as well. Filled with humor, suspense, mythology, memorable characters, and just a touch of danger, this book will keep you reading well past the time you should be in bed.

One of the things that first drew me to Holzner’s writing was her use of Welsh mythology and demon lore throughout her books, and this book is no exception. This one deals with a few of my favorites, though Holzner, as always, puts a spin on them which I found to be rather fascinating. I won’t go into any details, because I don’t want to spoil things, but let me simply say that by the time I was done reading this book, I wanted to pull out my human’s book on Welsh myths and give it another read through just for the fun of it. =~.^=

Another plus that this book had going for it was the humor. The scene in which Vicky interacts with a guilt demon had me smirking the whole time. Add in Vicky’s occasional one-liner jokes, and Tina’s crazy personality, and I found myself enjoying the humor in this book more than in previous ones. At the very least I understood the jokes better. I mean who doesn’t wish that there was a listing for kidnappers in the yellow pages sometimes?

Holzner’s characters have all undergone some serious changes and growth as the series has progressed, and it was nice to see that they continued to grow in this one as well. Particularly Vicky. For the last three books she’s been on the fence about her relationship with Kane, and in this book, she is forced to confront the issue head on. She’s still just as strong as she’s always been, and just as stubborn, but now we also get to see her deal with jealousy and insecurity regarding her feelings towards Kane. Kane himself as gone through the biggest change for me. I didn’t really like him when I first started the series, but after the events of the previous book and this one, my respect for him has shot through the roof! Tina’s another character that has been hit or miss with me throughout the series, but who’s managed to gain some of my respect. She really wants to prove herself to Vicky, and though I feel like she’s still a bit of a pain sometimes, I found myself wanting her to succeed in convincing Vicky to take her back as her apprentice. Now I  could go on about my thoughts regarding each of the characters in the book, but I’ll simply sum things up by saying that I love each and every one of them, even the villain.

This book is a fun read. It’s fast paced, filled with action, and leaves you anxious to get your paws on the next book in the series. The ending isn’t exactly a cliffhanger, but there are definitely things left unfinished and Vicky’s going to be faced with some hard decisions soon. I can’t wait for the fifth book to come out!

***

About the Author:

Nancy Holzner grew up in western Massachusetts with her nose stuck in a book. This meant that she tended to walk into things, wore glasses before she was out of elementary school, and forced her parents to institute a “no reading at the dinner table” rule. It was probably inevitable that she majored in English in college and then, because there were still a lot of books she wanted to read, continued her studies long enough to earn a master’s degree and a PhD.

She began her career as a medievalist, then jumped off the tenure track to try some other things. Besides teaching English and philosophy, she’s worked as a technical writer, freelance editor and instructional designer, college admissions counselor, and corporate trainer. As Nancy Conner, she writes how-to and reference books on topics ranging from classical mythology to using Office 2010.

Nancy lives in upstate New York with her husband Steve, where they both work from home without getting on each other’s nerves. She enjoys visiting local wineries and listening obsessively to opera. There are still a lot of books she wants to read.

Website, Facebook, Twitter,

Posted on August 4, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 815 other followers