First Grave on the Right Read-along – Week 1

Willow here! I have decided to try something a bit new and probably a bit crazy this month. What is this crazy thing you might ask? Well, I’ve decided to participate in a Read-along for Darynda Jones’s first book, First Grave on the Right. I figured this would be the perfect way to read a book that I’ve been interested in for some time now as well as do something that’s just plain fun! After all, Sara and Buggy shouldn’t be the only two felines who get to do group events. =^.^= Here’s a look at what the read schedule for the month and who will be hosting the event each week:

1st Wk – 8/2 Love of Books ~ Ch 1-5
2nd Wk – 8/9  Babbling About Books and Stuff ~ Ch 6-10
3rd Wk – 8/16  In the Closet With a Bibliophile ~ Ch 11- 15
4th Wk – 8/23  Rainy Day Ramblings ~ Ch 16-21
5th Wk – 8/30 Darynda Jones Q&A + winners announcement

And now, on to this week’s questions!!

1.  We meet some of Charley’s ghostly “buddies,” do you believe you have ever had a ghostly encounter?

The house that I share with my fellow felines and human companions is actually haunted believe it or not, and my human, Cameron, got to witness it first hand. She woke up in the middle of the night one evening and heard the sound of keys being thrown onto the laundry machines downstairs. At first she thought it was her roommate who had returned home early, but she quickly realized that the voices she was hearing were not any that she recognized. Fearing that there were burglars in the house, she woke up my other human and asked him to go investigate. His response was, “It’s nothing. Go back to sleep.” Five minutes later she asked him to go investigate again because she was still hearing voices downstairs, and again he told her it was nothing and to go back to sleep. Eventually she gave up and did just that. It wasn’t until a few days later when her roommate came home from the trip that she was on and told Cameron that this was a common occurrence and that the house was indeed haunted.

As for myself, I’ve seen all sorts of stuff. When I go off chasing after spirits, the humans in the house all laugh and talk about how cute I am. What they don’t seem to get that I am actually interacting with the ghosts in the house. And given what they know about the place, you’d think they would put two and two together. Sigh

2.  Charley named her jeep Misery.  Have  you ever named your vehicles?  What did you name them?

That metal monstrosity which delivers myself and fellow felines, Sara and Buggy, to the vet is affectionately, and appropriately, called Anya by my human. Yes, she’s very much aware that it’s the name of the Vengeance Demon in the TV show, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. And when you ask her why she named it thus, she will happily tell you exactly why she chose that name. I agree with her on her reasoning and can’t wait for the day she gets a new one.

3.  Charley says her name “…brooks no opposition. It takes shit from no one.”  What do you think your name says about you to strangers?  Is there a different name that you think would suit you better?

My name is WillowWisp, aka Willow, and I want to go on the record and say that I chose this name myself, thank you very much. My human will occasionally call me her Cross-eyed Demon Child, and I guess I’m okay with that. I like the Demon part, but I’m not too sure about the Cross-eyed bit.

Do I think there’s a better name that suits me? Pfft…you bet, but I doubt that Goddess or Queen of All She Surveys is something any human would consent to calling me or any other feline in this house. Sigh

4.  Charley says her best friend Cookie is “like Kramer from Seinfeld, only not so nervous, like Kramer might have been on Prozac.”  Give us your best description of your best friend.  How would they describe you?

~arches a brow at this question~ I guess I would call Sara my friend, but I don’t know if she would be considered a “best”. Sure, she goes out of her way to wash me behind my ears and lets me eat the rest of her kibble when she gets full, but I don’t know if that’s enough to make her a best friend or not. Can you be best friends with someone you’ve only known five years?

To describe her, she’s pretty much a push over and a total suck up. She’s always purring and cuddling up with our human, acting cute and what not. Personally, she makes me want to cough up a hairball with how much she over does it all. But her heart is in the right place…even if she’s a simpleton.

How would she, or Buggy, describe me? They call me troublesome and mischievous, but I think it’s because they are jealous. Not everyone can be as great as me, and they know it. ~smirks~

5.  Garrett is reluctant to believe in Charley’s abilities, how would you react if a friend divulged to you that they can see and speak with the dead?

All felines can speak with the dead. It’s a gift we were born with and it’s one that we practice with pride. =^.^= So if a friend told me they could see and speak with the dead, I’d probably nod and ask them to tell me more. Then I’d share with them my experience.

Posted on August 2, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How fun! A blog written by cats! I love it so creative and fun. Sme great answers as well. Love the car paragraph, the name and how it is used to carry Willow to the vet! Yes, I believe cats can see ghosts. I hope you are loving the book! Thanks for joining the read along!

  2. I also love a blog written by cats! I have three! LOL @ the car named Anya after Buffy! I LOVED Anya! She was an awesoem vengeance demon. Always purring and sucking up to the human and makes you want to cough up a hairball eh? LOL

  3. Love your blog Willow…but it might give my kitty, Tigger, ideas. She believes she is Queen as well and the dogs are all her minions.

    • There’s nothing wrong with her thinking that the dogs are her minions. My fellow felines and I always used the dog in our house as our scapegoat and a means to get the things we wanted. Why else were dogs created if they weren’t meant to serve us cats? =~.^=

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 816 other followers