Sara’s Review of The Dex Files by Karina Halle

Sinfully Delicious Book ReviewsI’d like to extend massive purrs and tail waves to Emmy over at Sinfully Delicious Book Reviews for letting me participate in The Dex Files Blog Tour, murr!! Too see a full list of all the blogs participating, please visit HERE. Also, there are two wonderful giveaways related to the tour going on. Please visit Sinfully Delicious Book Reviews and Escapism for your chance to enter! And be sure to come back August 4th as Karina Halle will be joining me for special Guest Post, murr!! =^.^=

***

Rating: 

Date of Publication: August 13th 2012

Publisher: Metal Blonde Books

Series: Experiment in Terror

Goodreads Description:

The truth is out there…

The Dex-Files is a compilation novel that accompanies the Experiment in Terror Series and is not to be-read as a stand-alone. In the Dex-Files we find a variety of scenes and chapters from the enigmatic Dex Foray’s POV from books #1-6 in the series. Some of these scenes have been previously published, albeit from Perry’s POV, while other scenes are completely new.

In addition to it not being a stand-alone, the novel also contains some major spoilers and should be read only by those who have read all the published books in the series.

Review:

Wow! Seriously, all I can say is wow. Halle has manged to leave this feline speechless. Well, alright, perhaps not entirely speechless. This is supposed to be a review after all. So, how about I just dive into things, shall I? =^.^=

When I got to post the special Red Fox scene staring Dex during the On Demon Wings book tour back in May, I knew right then that I had to have more! And judging by the number of responses the post got, it is safe to say that I was not the only one, murr! So you can only imagine how thrilled I was when Halle announced that she would be creating a novella made up of scenes told exclusively from Dex’s perspective. Now, while I usually have a love/hate relationship with Dex during the Experiment in Terror novels, my appreciation for his character changed dramatically the minute I got to see things through his eyes. And after having read this book there can be no doubt, I completely love Dex!

Readers please be advised, if you’ve not read all the books in the Experiment in Terror series, including Old Blood, make sure you do so before picking up this book! Also be advised that there’s no holding back when it comes to Dex. This novella lays it all out there…both the good and the bad. Dex doesn’t sugar coat anything, and I think that’s one of the reasons I loved this book so much. From getting glimpses of Dex’s early years, to his reaction upon first meeting Perry in Dark House, right on through to events following On Demon Wings, Halle does a fantastic job taking the reader through the emotional roller coaster that is Dex’s mind. That being said, I will caution you and say that this book is definitely not one that I would suggest for young readers under the age of 16. I wasn’t joking when I said that Dex doesn’t sugar coat anything. This book, like others in the Experiment in Terror series, definitely falls into the category of New Adult.

While I enjoyed everything this book had to offer, there were definitely a few scenes which I loved above all the others. The extended bar scene from Red Fox, which you got just a taste of here back in May, and the scene in Lying Season where Perry and Dex have their massive fallout, were the two which really had this feline’s heart crying out in anguish for Dex. Yes, I’m not ashamed to admit that I got completely caught up in this book. These scenes made me laugh and cry. They left me stunned and a few even made my heart race. And all of them gave me a deeper appreciation for Dex.

There’s no doubt that this is the perfect companion novella for the Experiment in Terror series!

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Emmy @Sinfully Delicious Book Reviews

    Great review! RED FOX!!! Still one of my faves too. *sigh* Dex is too much.

  2. Loved this book. Karina made Dex all the more delicious for me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 897 other followers