Our Favorite Authors – Garth Nix

Our goal with “Our Favorite Authors” is to help our followers find new authors whom they might never have tried before and also thank those authors whom have touched our lives over the years. And since there is no shortage in authors whom we love, we are positive this monthly post will be a success! =^-^=

Garth Nix was born in 1963 in Melbourne, Australia, to the sound of the Salvation Army band outside playing ‘Hail the Conquering Hero Comes’ or possibly ‘Roll Out the Barrel’. Garth left Melbourne at an early age for Canberra (the federal capital) and stayed there till he was nineteen, when he left to drive around the UK in a beat-up Austin with a boot full of books and a Silver-Reed typewriter.

Despite a wheel literally falling off the Austin, Garth survived to return to Australia and study at the University of Canberra. After finishing his degree in 1986 he worked in a bookshop, then as a book publicist, a publisher’s sales representative, and editor. Along the way he was also a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve, serving in an Assault Pioneer platoon for four years. Garth left publishing to work as a public relations and marketing consultant from 1994-1997, till he became a full-time writer in 1998. He did that for a year before joining Curtis Brown Australia as a part-time literary agent in 1999. In January 2002 Garth went back to dedicated writer again, despite his belief that full-time writing explains the strange behaviour of many authors.

He now lives in Sydney with his wife, two sons and lots of books.

My first introduction to Garth Nix was when I happened to stumble across his Abhorsen series one day when visiting one of my local bookstores. The first book happened to be on display and I found the cover intriguing enough that I picked it up to read the back synopsis. Little surprise that it ended up coming home with me that same evening. I’m not entirely sure at what point I got the other two books of the series, but eventually I managed to finish all of them and found that I liked the books, though not enough to pick up any of his other books at the time. Skip forward to about four years ago when I happened upon the audio version of this series. Now normally I’m not one who listens to a lot of audio books, preferring the feel of an actual book over the ability to listen to a story while on the go, but for this series I made an exception. You see, all three titles in this series were read by Tim Curry and I must say that he does an absolutely fantastic job reading the books! I particularly enjoy him as Mogget, but he does a great job with the other characters too. Listening to the audio versions made me reevaluate my interest in Nix’s writing. There was something about hearing them that drew me deeper into the storyline than by physically reading them myself. Maybe it was the fact that they were read by Tim Curry which made me enjoy them more, or maybe it’s simply that I find Nix’s books lend more enjoyment when read to me, I don’t know. What I can say is that I definitely wanted to check out more of his books.

So in my quest to discover other books by Nix, I happened upon his Keys to the Kingdom series, which I now also own on audio. This is a fun series! Not only were they a fast paced read, yes I did actually read the books while listening to them (old habits die hard), but the plot line was very creative and engaging. I’ll admit that I’m rather sad I didn’t pick these up sooner because I enjoyed them immensely. And can I say that the two-year wait between the sixth book and the release of the seventh just about drove me crazy? This series has something for everyone who picks them up. =^.^=

After two successful discoveries, I’ve begun to look closely at Nix’s Seventh Tower series and at his newest novel A Confusion of Princes. The Seventh Tower books look like they will be fun, but I am not sure if I want to get caught up another series of his just yet. As for A Confusion of Princes, well, there’s just something about the cover art that I find fascinating. There’s no question that I will be getting this title as an audio book once it is made available. My curiosity towards it is just too strong! While I will admit to being rather sad that it took me discovering the audio editions of Nix’s novels for me to appreciate them more, I must say that I am thankful I did because otherwise I would have missed out on a great many wonderful stories. Time will tell whether I will continue preferring to listen to the books on audio over physically reading them myself. Either way, I’m looking forward to some new adventures!

To learn more about Garth Nix, you can visit him via his Website, Facebook, & Twitter.

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Authors. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. i am a new author myself this is my first blog i write poetry the name of my book is

    The Hopes Heartaches and Dreams of A Young Woman’s Soul

    hope you have a chance to check it out on amazon,com bn.com or authorhouse.com also kindle or nook.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 878 other followers