Buggy’s Review of Bella by Steve Piacente

Rating: 

Date Published: June 13th 2010

Publisher: Createspace

Goodreads Description:

Isabel Moss knew she might lose her husband when he went off to war.
When the call came, she was almost ready.
What stopped her cold was the second call…

- From the author’s website

Review:

I picked this book up and read it as a part of the Book Whore Book Club, host by Book Whore, during the months of May-June. During this time I had the wonderful opportunity to engage in discussion with fellow readers and was able to see this book through the eyes of many, not just myself. If you are curious to see what went on during the discussion, please feel free to visit HERE. Now, on to the review!

I rather enjoyed this novel. No surprise there since I love a good conspiracy story, and this is nothing if not a good conspiracy story. This book definitely left me guessing at every turn of the page.

One thing that automatically hooked me was its noir feel to the preface. It rather reminded me of the old black and white version of Sunset Boulevard with Gloria Swanson, a movie that I absolutely adore bytheby. The fact that the story itself was set shortly after the events of 9/11 made it even more of an intriguing read. True, I was nothing but a young kitten at the time when this tragedy took place, but I wasn’t oblivious to the pain the nation was feeling. I truly empathized with Isabel’s desire to want to learn the truth regarding her husband’s death and the roller coaster ride Piacente sends us on in the search for answers left me stunned. It’s truly a well written book.

Another thing the book had going for it was it’s non-stop action. There was always something happening within each chapter. From fake cops to full on military cover up, this book makes you want to keep reading in order to find out what happens next.

The only issue I had with the story was my general dislike of the main characters. Danny actually ticked me off and his actions throughout the book left a rather bad taste in my mouth, and I couldn’t get over my suspicions towards Isabel’s motives a lot of the time. This was actually one of those rare books where I loved the story but just couldn’t stomach the characters. And I tried really hard to give them the benefit of the doubt. Did this detract from my enjoyment of the book? A bit, yes, but the overall plot more than made up for it all.

Piacente also raises a rather interesting question towards the end of the book. Namely, is it better to lie in order to spare pain and protect the greater good or should the truth always be told regardless of possible consequences? If you are curious as to what I mean by this question, I highly suggest you read the book in order to find out!

So when all is said and done, I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys books that deal with conspiracy issues, cover ups, mysteries, etc. I advise those that do read it to see beyond the characters to the real issue the book is trying to bring to light. And should you read this book, I invite you to come and share your thoughts with me on it here on the blog. =^.^=

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks very much for your kind review, Buggy. I had a great experience with the book club, and truly appreciate the candid discussion that went from May-June. FYI, my next novel, a prequel to Bella called Bootlicker, will be out Sept. 1. Thanks again, Steve (www.stevepiacente.com)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 871 other followers