Sara’s Review of The Dream Slayer by Jill Cooper

I’d like to thank SupaGurl Books for letting me participate in this tour event. To see a list of all the blogs participating, please visit HERE!

Rating:

Date of Publication: June 25th 2012

Series: The Dreamer Slayer Series

Goodreads Description:

When your dreams come true, sometimes you get more than you bargained for…

Natalie Johnson has always dreamed she’s someone else; calm, beautiful, in control. A chosen warrior with a maniacal arch nemesis and a dreamy boyfriend, the type that can make your knees melt and your heart quiver.

Real life is much different. She’s tormented by a bully and endures the sharp tongue of her father, but finds solace in her dreams.

When her bully ends up dead, de ja vu from a dream hits her hard as everything around her begins to fall apart.

Whatever killed Sarah in her dreams is now in reality, hunting her from the shadows. And it wants her dead.

Somehow as the lines between reality and nightmare blur, Natalie must discover hidden strength to pull her friends and family back from the brink of madness.

Review:

So I’m of two minds when it comes to this book. On the one paw, there are moments where I liked it. But on the other paw, there are some elements that just kept me from getting into the story as much as I would have liked.

One of those elements was the continual parallels to the TV show, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. There are a lot of them. And yes, I almost put the book down and walked away because I was finding it difficult to get past the whole fan fic vibe. Now don’t get me wrong, I love Buffy as much as the next cat, but this was not at all what I was expecting when I picked up the book to read. To say it was a distraction is a bit of an understatement. I couldn’t get the TV show of my head while reading. Believe me I tried.

Another element which I found distracting was the jumping between Natalie’s reality and her dream world. There were several moments where I couldn’t figure out which Natalie I was reading about, the real Natalie or the slayer Natalie. Yes, the manner and tone changed depending on which Natalie was taking center stage, but I still got confused at times when the change over happened.

Despite all this, I still found the story to be an interesting one. I loved that Cooper made her main character the subject of bullying and abuse. She did a wonderful job conveying the hopelessness and low self-esteem a lot of victims feel who are subjected to bullying on a daily basis. Plus the abuse Natalie and her mother face at the hands of her father at home is also realistic. So much so, that my heart went out to Natalie. It was really nice to see her come into her own as the story progressed.

Over all, I liked the story and would be curious to see what the sequel holds in store. At the very least this is the start to an intriguing series of books.

***

Twitter Party:

On July 18th from 8-9 EST (that’s 5-6 PST for us West Coast felines) you are cordially invited to attend a Twitter party with Jill and fellow Dream Slayer fans. Simply sign into Twitter and use the hastag #DreamSlayer. This is your opportunity to ask questions and talk with the author. You won’t want to miss it!

Giveaway:

Between now (July 16th) until the end of the month (July 31st), Jill is generously giving away a Kindle Fire on her page! To enter, simply follow the link HERE and fill out the rafflecopter form provided!

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 871 other followers