Revealing Eden Promo Post

We’ve got a special post today promoting the book Revealing Eden by Victoria Foyt, the first book in the Save the Pearls series! Be sure to keep an eye out for Sara’s review of the novel which will be up next month. =^.^=  Until then, enjoy everyone!

***

A LETTER FROM THE FUTURE

Dear Blond, Blue-Eyed Girl,

You don’t know me, and sadly, you never will. But I know you, well, except for your name. I often see you playing catch with your boyfriend on a beach in Old California. There’s a long pier in the background, with a big Ferris wheel and roller coasters. And lots of families—some with siblings—running around, or having picnics, even surfing in the water!

I spotted you the first time I watched this particular Holo-Image. The World Historians created “fun lifestyles” for us to enjoy so we don’t go stir crazy living underground. I actually gasped when I saw you, because you look just like me. Tall, blond and blue-eyed—but you’re smiling, and wearing a bikini with your white skin exposed to the sun.

Come to think of it, you might not think we look alike. After all, I wear a dark coat of skin covering to hide my white skin, everyone like me does. I’m a Pearl, but that ugly term won’t be in use for long. In fact, I found a secret Beauty Map of the Old World, which shows that blonds once were highly rated, one of the most desirous type of girls. I can’t even imagine what that must have been like. Sometimes, I let myself fantasize but it’s such a stretch: if I had lived in your time I would have been beautiful too. I get dizzy just thinking about it.

I’m glad you won’t have to know what it’s like to be a Pearl. To be hated because your skin is white. To avoid the warm sun for fear of catching the Heat.

In your time, the ozone layer was still intact, and protected your pale skin.

You have a slight tan (I can see your tan line around your neck whenever you reach for the multi-colored ball). But when the Great Meltdown occurred, and solar radiation rose to extreme levels, a lot of people died, mostly Pearls. The Coals have more melanin in their skin so they resist the Heat better. They rule now, and we Pearls suffer for it.

Right now, I’m on a break at the lab where my father is cooking up an amazing experiment that might change everything for us Pearls—Mother Earth, I hope so! I’m feeling kind of sad because I’ll be eighteen soon, and if I don’t find a mate by then, I’ll be kicked Outside. My prospects are slim; no one wants me. (Did I mention my mate rate is only 15%?)

I decided to write you this letter because I want to remind myself that someone might find me beautiful, even if it’s only someone from another time. Not everyone thinks I’m ugly with bad genes. Someone will want me, right?

I hope I find a mate soon because I’m just not ready to die.

Your friend from the future,

Eden Newman

 

Goodreads Description: Eden Newman must mate before her 18th birthday in six months or she’ll be left outside to die in a burning world. But who will pick up her mate-option when she’s cursed with white skin and a tragically low mate-rate of 15%? In a post-apocalyptic, totalitarian, underground world where class and beauty are defined by resistance to an overheated environment, Eden’s coloring brands her as a member of the lowest class, a weak and ugly Pearl. If only she can mate with a dark-skinned Coal from the ruling class, she’ll be safe. Just maybe one Coal sees the Real Eden and will be her salvation her co-worker Jamal has begun secretly dating her. But when Eden unwittingly compromises her father’s secret biological experiment, she finds herself in the eye of a storm and thrown into the last area of rainforest, a strange and dangerous land. Eden must fight to save her father, who may be humanity’s last hope, while standing up to a powerful beast-man she believes is her enemy, despite her overwhelming attraction. Eden must change to survive but only if she can redefine her ideas of beauty and of love, along with a little help from her “adopted aunt” Emily Dickinson.

Published January 10th 2012 by Sand Dollar Press Inc

Posted on June 28, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 879 other followers