Willow’s Review of Blood Guilt by Marie Treanor

Rating:

Series: Blood Hunters

Publishing Date: June 5th 2012

Where to Purchase: Amazon, Amazon UK, Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Description:

The first of a new vampire romance series, a sequel to the Awakened by Blood trilogy.

Mihaela, a fearless vampire hunter secretly haunted by loneliness and childhood tragedy, finds it difficult to adjust to the new world order where vampires are not always the bad guys. She’s taking a much needed vacation in Scotland when she sees a little boy being chased through the streets of Edinburgh. Rescuing him brings bigger problems – two vampires from her past: Gavril, who killed her family; and the reclusive and troubled Maximilian, gifted Renaissance artist and one-time overlord of the most powerful undead community in the world. Maximilian once saved her life and now needs that favor returned.

The earth moves for Mihaela in more ways than one. From Scotland to Budapest and Malta, she races against time to prevent a disastrous, vampire-induced earthquake and save an innocent yet powerful child – all while fighting a dreadful attraction to Maximilian, her only ally, whom she can’t afford to trust. For Maximilian, the hunter becomes a symbol of renewed existence, as he struggles to accept his past and rediscovers his appetite for blood and sex – and maybe even happiness.

Review:

This is the first book of Treanor’s that I’ve had the pleasure of reading and I must say that I enjoyed it. =^-^=

Even though this is a sequel to Treanor’s first series of books, Awakened by Blood, I never once felt that I was missing any thing due to not having read the first trilogy. Treanor does a wonderful job of touching upon the important events in the first trilogy which lead to the events in this book and if anything, reading about them made me want to go and get the previous series just for the fun of it.

What I liked about this book was watching the relationship between Mihaela and Maximilian develop during the course of the plot. I loved the fact that both characters had real issues that they needed to overcome in order for their relationship to work. For Maximilian is was putting aside his guilt and the suffering he chose to inflict upon himself after betraying his maker and for Mihaela it was overcoming her hate and distrust of vampires and accepting the fact that not all vampires are evil. Needless to say, their relationship had its ups and downs. But there’s no denying that the chemistry between them was real.

I also liked the overall plot line. The idea of selective humans possessing psychic powers that vampires can manipulate and vampires teaming up with their former hunters in order to prevent the destruction of the world kept me reading long after I should have curled up for the night. It was easy to get drawn into the story and the characters.

The only thing that kept me from loving this book was the pacing itself felt slow. For all that I got lost in the pages and wanted to keep reading in order to find out what happened next, there were times where I felt like I had been reading for hours only to find out that I’d only read for 45 minutes. I’m not entirely sure what sparked this problem for me, but it was troubling because as I said the story was very interesting.

Regardless, fans of Treanor’s previous books will enjoy this one and it’s a great introduction for those readers just discovering her.

Posted on June 20, 2012, in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Cameron, thank you for featuring BLOOD GUILT and me on your blog today! And of course special thanks to Willow for the kind and thoughtful review – you’re my kind of cat :).

    Best Wishes!

    Marie

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 899 other followers